Dean’s Student Advisory Committee (DSAC)

*Apply to be a member of the Dean’s Student Advisory Committee*

2015-2016 Dean’s Student Advisory Committee
2015-2016 Dean’s Student Advisory Committee
photo by: Jill A. Tobin 

Contact DSAC

​The Dean's Student Advisory Committee (DSAC) is headed by Associate Dean Helena Dettmer for Undergraduate Programs and Curriculum. This student-led committee helps the College to understand the needs of students and how to assist them. The committee meets with a large number of significant faculty/staff all across campus.

Issues discussed fall within the following topics:

  • Academic policies
  • Degree requirements
  • Advising opportunities
  • Course availability
  • Internship experiences
  • Recruitment activities 

Some of the past issues we have targeted include, but are not limited to:

  • Modifying the required Rhetoric course (to only Accelerated Rhetoric)
  • Addressing maximum # of finals in one day
  • Noting the use of ACE Forms & how to publicize results
  • Inputting improvements to the Main Library
  • Discussing additions to Living Learning Communities
  • Adding ideas to the development of the new MyUI
  • Updating the CLAS Academic Code of Honesty
  • Offering student perspectives to faculty-headed operations across campus

DSAC members raise concerns for discussion and action, ranging from degree requirements and advising to research opportunities and internships. Our current projects include:

  • Forming a major-specific ambassador/mentorship program
  • Assisting with college recruitment activities 

The committee meets the monthly during the academic year. If you have any questions, feel free to contact DSAC President, Madison Shutt, at

The 2016-2017 Executive Team:

  1. President: Madison Shutt
  2. Vice President: Alison Edwards
  3. Secretary: Emma Weddle
  4. Treasurer: Azzam Hassan


  1. Research: Nathan Micatka, Chair 
    • Members: Sheng Hao Lu, Yunfan Jiang, Marcus Smith, Joey Springer, Emma Weddle, Rachel Zuckerman 

    • The research committee strives to seek out areas of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences that need improvement of some level. These areas or issues that are stumbled upon should be projects DSAC can complete which better CLAS for students, faculty, and the Hawkeye community. The projects are generally thought of by committee members as they run into things around campus; however, projects are not limited to personal experiences. We have discussions with other students across campus, make use of surveys to gage student body opinions, and meet with faculty from across campus. This subcommittee’s goal is to improve CLAS for everyone and ensure an engaging and responsive College.  

  2. Recruitment: Nico McCarty, Chair
    • Members:Katie Agey, Erin Maurer, Parthiv Shah, Zach Weigel 

    • Our subcommittee leads recruitment efforts for the Dean's Student Advisory Committee. During the Fall and Spring, we send out an email to eligible undergraduate students. Members of the recruitment subcommittee interview and discuss applicants, ensuring that DSAC remains an inclusive, diverse, and representative advisory committee to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Members can expect to be busy for 2-3 weeks during the semester, when interviews and reading of applications take place.

  3. Relations: Alison Edwards, Chair
    • Members: Sandra Amouzou, Laura Fischer, Becca Hauser, Rachel Hulme, Ben Ross, Brianna Stokes 

    • We work to actively establish and maintain working relationships between University students, colleges, departments, and programs. Additionally, we strive to foster good relationships among local, state, and national officials, including the University and its affiliates. We also, assist in coordination between parties on various DSAC initiatives.

  4. Reach: Azzam Hassan, Chair
    • Members: Patrick Adrian, Marina Gibbs, Madalyn Rasor

    • The Reach Committee's objective is to seek out new opportunities that DSAC can get involved with, both around campus and around the Iowa City community. Past projects include pitching in at the You@UI event and speaking to classes about their academic experience; currently we are working on a major-specific mentor program.

Current Active Members:

  • Patrick Adrian, Fourth Year, Physics and Mathematics major, Computer Science minor
  • Katherine Agey, Third Year Enterprise Leadership major, Human Relations minor, Leadership Studies certificate
  • Sandra Amouzou, Second Year, International Relations major, Global Health Studies and French minors
  • Alison Edwards, Fourth Year, Interdepartmental Studies (Health Science-Entrepreneurial) and English major
  • Laura Fischer, Fourth Year, Biochemistry and Chemistry major, Mathematics minor
  • Marina Gibbs, Fourth Year, Human Physiology and Chemistry major,  Clinical and Translational Science certificate, Pre-Medicine 
  • Azzam Hassan, Second Year, Pre-Physician Assistant Program, Pre-Medicine 
  • Rebecca Hauser, Third Year,  Speech and Hearing Science, American Sign Language minor
  • Aaron Hendrickson, Fourth Year, Human Physiology major, Pre-Medicine
  • Rachel Hulme, Second Year,  Biology major,  Spanish minor, Pre-Dentistry
  • Yunfan Jiang, Third Year, Actuarial Science, Statistics (Mathematical Statistics), and Computer Science major
  • Sheng Hao Lu, Fourth Year, Microbiology major, Entrepreneurial Management certificate, Pre-Dentistry
  • Brianna Lupo, First Year, Biology major, Pre-Medicine, and Spanish minor
  • Erin Maurer, Third Year, Enterprise Leadership major, Writing certificate
  • Nicholas McCarty, Fourth Year, Biochemistry and Microbiology major, Chemistry and Computer Science minor, Clinical and Translational Science certificate, Pre-Medicine
  • Nathan Micatka, Second Year, Political Science and  Philosophy major, Economics minor, Pre-Law 
  • Benjamin Ross, Fourth Year, Music (Performance--Voice) and Music Education (Teacher Education Program K-12) major, Communication Sciences and Disorders minor
  • Jesus A. Sanchez, First Year, Open major
  • Parthiv Shah, Fourth Year, Computer Science major, Business Administration minor
  • Madison Shutt, Fourth Year, International Relations (Conflict and Foreign Policy) major, Spanish minor
  • Marcus  Smith, Second Year, Political Science and Ethics and Public Policy (Sociology) major, Pre-Law 
  • Joseph Springer, Fourth Year, Russian and International Studies (International Business) major
  • Brianna Stokes, Second Year, Psychology and History major
  • Elyssa Tracy, Third Year, Human Physiology major, Pre-Medicine
  • Carly Vanderheyden, Fourth Year, Dance and Health and Human Physiology (Health Promotion) major, Performing Arts Entrepreneurship certificate
  • Emily Marie Vaughan, Third Year, English (Creative Writing) and Cinema 
  • Emma Weddle, Second Year, Religious Studies and African American Studies major, Arabic Language minor, Pre-Law
  • Zachary Weigel, Fourth Year, Political Science major, Sociology minor
  • Rachel  Zuckerman, Fourth Year, Journalism and Mass Communication and Political Science major, Critical Cultural Competence certificate

Apply to be a member of DSAC (Spring 2017 Recruitment) 

* The statements, expressed opinions and links displayed on the CLAS Dean’s Student Advisory Committee web pages are generated and posted by the student members of the CLAS Dean’s Student Advisory Committee . No official endorsement or approval by the University of Iowa of the viewpoints expressed on this web page or any of the student organization activities described on this web page should be inferred. The activities and events of this student organization are not necessarily sponsored or approved by the University of Iowa.