Faculty Governance Elections

Nomination and Election Processes

From January 30 to February 6, 2019, CLAS faculty will nominate candidates to serve on the CLAS Executive CommitteeUndergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee, Graduate Educational Policy Committee, and Faculty Assembly, as well as a seat on the UI Graduate Council. Those who receive the highest number of nominations and agree to become candidates will appear on the election ballots later in February (see election timeline below).

In accordance with the new Manual of Policy and Procedures (approved April 26, 2017), the following member seats need to be filled in this year’s election to ensure each committee meets the established composition requirements:

The Executive Committee has three member seats to fill.  One member must come from the Natural and Mathematical Sciences, and two members must come from the Humanities.

The Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee has three member seats to fill.  One must come from the Natural and Mathematical Sciences, one must come from the Social Sciences and one must come from the Humanities.  No more than one instructional-track faculty member shall represent each electoral voting group.

The Graduate Educational Policy Committee has three member seats to fill.  One member must come from the Natural and Mathematical Sciences, one must come from the Social Sciences, and one will be elected At Large and can come from any electoral voting group except the Humanities, as they already have the maximum two members per group.

The Faculty Assembly has six member seats to fill.  Two must come from the Natural and Mathematical Sciences, three must come from the Humanities and one must come from the Arts.  The Social Sciences already has the mandatory number required members.        

The CLAS seat on the Graduate Council will be filled by a faculty member from the Humanities this year.

Beginning Wednesday, January 30, faculty may go to the following secure website to cast their nomination ballots: https://apps.its.uiowa.edu/lavote/.

Please contact Lisa Gray (lisa-gray@uiowa.edu ) with any questions about the election process or timeline.

Nomination and Voting Eligibility

CLAS units are assigned to one of four electoral groups, as shown in the Nomination and Voting Eligibility List, in which each unit and its faculty is listed with the electoral group in which it belongs:  

Nomination and Voting Eligibility List

Faculty members are listed with the unit in which they hold their primary appointment.  The list notes any restrictions on eligibility for nomination (as defined in the CLAS Manual of Procedure, Section III ).

  • Voting Group I: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health and Human Physiology, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychological and Brain Sciences, Statistics and Actuarial Sciences
  • Voting Group II: Anthropology, Communication Studies, Geographical and Sustainability Sciences, Journalism & Mass Communication, Linguistics, Political Science, Social Work, Sociology
  • Voting Group III: African American Studies, Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures, Classics, English as a Second Language, English, French and Italian, German, Gender, Women’s and Sexuality Studies, History, Division of Interdisciplinary Programs, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Rhetoric, Spanish and Portuguese, Division of World Languages, Literatures and Cultures,
  • Voting Group IV:  Art & Art History, Cinematic Arts, Creative Writing, Dance, Music, Theatre Arts

Election Timeline

January 30, Wednesday

Nomination ballots open, 8 a.m.

February 6, Wednesday

Nomination ballots close, midnight

February 22, Friday

Election ballots and candidate statements published on this website

February 27, Wednesday

Election voting opens, 8 a.m.

March 6, Wednesday

Election voting closes, midnight

March 13, Wednesday

Election results posted on this webpage