About Us

Beginning in 1995, the College of Liberal Arts employed staff to assist departmental faculty and staff in their use of computing technology for their administrative and instructional needs. While increased use of computing technologies, including e-mail, the Internet, electronic forms, and the like, represent opportunity for enhanced productivity and communication, it also presents the challenge of increasing the complexity of day-to-day work. The increasing number of technology positions at the College is evidence of this environmental shift.  View the TS Staff directory.

Below is an outline of our expectations for the support provided by our Computing Consultants. Please feel free to contact Lance Bolton if there are issues that you feel are not described adequately here. (Please keep in mind that this will always be a work-in-progress and is revised periodically, as the need arises.)

What We Do

  • Work with faculty & staff on the selection of new PC/Mac systems
  • Support faculty & staff PC/Mac systems in UI main campus offices 
    —Troubleshoot and repair hardware 
    —Troubleshoot and assist with software for Windows & Mac systems
  • Support standard applications: Internet browsers, Microsoft Office (incl. Word, Excel, Powerpoint & Access)
  • Install and support faculty/staff office computers, including data and application migration to new systems
  • Record and verify computer asset placement to facilitate collegiate replacement of aged systems
  • Coordinate support calls with ITS Help Desk (4-4357)
  • Support college-funded Instructional Computing Facilities where present (not ITC labs)
  • Administer user training 
    —Informal one-on-one user training (new users, computers, tools, etc.)
    —Periodic topical user meetings and seminars
    —CLAS TS e-mail announcements

As time permits, we

  • Support other, department-specific software
  • Install & support computers in the offices of teaching and research assistants

Special Notes

  • At this time we are not able to support or maintain Instructional Technology Center (ITC) computer labs and General Assignment classrooms
  • We do not troubleshoot personally-owned computers or provide support for home networks

Questions or comments: clas-it@uiowa.edu.

CLAS Technology Services Staff Directory

Name Email Phone Office
Rebekah Ahrens, Senior Application Developer rebekah-ahrens@uiowa.edu 319-335-1954 38 MH
Scott Allendorf, Senior Systems Administrator scott-allendorf@uiowa.edu 319-335-0003 210B VAN
Brian Bacher, IT Support Consultant brian-bacher@uiowa.edu 319-335-1512 303A MLH
Mark Bennett, Senior Application Developer mark-bennett@uiowa.edu 319-384-1843 21 SH
Lance Bolton, Senior Director of IT lance-bolton@uiowa.edu 319-335-3554 38 MH
Matthew Brockman, Senior Systems Administrator matthew-brockman@uiowa.edu 319-335-2730 303A MLH
Nick Carino-Marek, IT Support Consultant nicholas-carino-marek@uiowa.edu 319-335-0163 232 JH
Bradley Carson, Senior Systems Administrator bradley-carson@uiowa.edu 319-353-2243 303A MLH
Michael Ciha, IT Support Analyst michael-ciha@uiowa.edu 319-384-4204 E127 CB
Aran Cox, Senior Systems Administrator aran-cox@uiowa.edu 319-335-0747 303A MLH
Daniel Elder, IT Support Analyst daniel-elder@uiowa.edu 319-467-1179 210A VAN
Andrew Evans, IT Support Consultant andrew-evans@uiowa.edu 319-384-2959 E149 VAB
Bret Feddern, Senior Application Developer bret-feddern@uiowa.edu 319-335-3076 G17 SLP
Peter Franke, IT Support Consultant peter-franke@uiowa.edu 319-335-1471 E127 CB
Mark Fullenkamp, Senior Application Developer mark-fullenkamp@uiowa.edu 319-353-2341 21 SH
Shawn Gelo, Senior Systems Administrator shawn-gelo@uiowa.edu 319-335-2410 G14 SLP
Rachel Gold, Application Developer rachel-gold@uiowa.edu 319-335-3240 38 BB
Jennifer Graham, Application Developer jennifer-l-arnold@uiowa.edu 319-335-1703 38 MH
Ahmed Hassanein, IT Support Analyst ahmed-hassanein@uiowa.edu 319-335-2887 SSH 425 (and also in the Grad College: GILH 201J, 5-1983)
Mike Hendrickson, Mac Systems Administrator mike-hendrickson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2768 E326 AJB
Dan Holstad, Senior Systems Administrator dan-holstad@uiowa.edu 319-335-0748 303A MLH
Bob Irwin, IT Support Consultant robert-irwin@uiowa.edu 319-335-2034 38 MH
Dianne Jones, IT Support Consultant dianne-jones@uiowa.edu 319-335-1693 422 EPB
Phil Maul, Mac Systems Administrator philip-maul@uiowa.edu 319-335-0539 346 ABW
Trent Petersen, IT Support Consultant trenten-petersen@uiowa.edu 319-353-3616 113 SHC
Isaac Podolefsky, Project Manager isaac-podolefsky@uiowa.edu 319-384-1942 228 SH
Bryan Ringen, IT Support Consultant bryan-ringen@uiowa.edu 319-335-0149 E127 CB
Nichole Singer, IT Project Coordinator nichole-singer@uiowa.edu 319-384-3281 38 MH
Adam Skibbe, Systems Administrator adam-skibbe@uiowa.edu 319-335-0157 316 JH
Ben Speare, Senior Application Developer benjamin-speare@uiowa.edu 319-335-2632 21 SH
Jenifer Steil, IT Support Manager jenifer-steil@uiowa.edu 319-384-1913 38 MH
Matt Swanson, IT Support Consultant matthew-k-swanson@uiowa.edu 319-335-1734 111 PH
Terry Tharp, IT Support Consultant terry-tharp@uiowa.edu 319-467-1173 MH 209
Kris Thompson, IT Support Consultant kris-thompson@uiowa.edu 319-335-3744 210A VAN
JJ Urich, Director Research, Unix Systems & Infrastructure joseph-urich@uiowa.edu 319-335-0750 303A MLH
John Winget, IT Support Consultant john-a-winget@uiowa.edu 319-335-1869 1212 VOX
Jon Yates, IT Support Consultant jon-yates@uiowa.edu 319-335-0140 38B BB