About Us: CLAS Technology Services

Beginning in 1995, the College of Liberal Arts employed staff to assist departmental faculty and staff in their use of computing technology for their administrative and instructional needs. While increased use of computing technologies, including e-mail, the Internet, electronic forms, and the like, represent opportunity for enhanced productivity and communication, it also presents the challenge of increasing the complexity of day-to-day work. The increasing number of technology positions at the College is evidence of this environmental shift.  View the TS Staff directory

Below is an outline of our expectations for the support provided by our Computing Consultants. Please feel free to contact Lance Bolton if there are issues that you feel are not described adequately here. (Please keep in mind that this will always be a work-in-progress and is revised periodically, as the need arises.)

What We Do

  • Work with faculty & staff on the selection of new PC/Mac systems
  • Support faculty & staff PC/Mac systems in UI main campus offices 
    —Troubleshoot and repair hardware 
    —Troubleshoot and assist with software for Windows & Mac systems
  • Support standard applications: Internet browsers, Microsoft Office365 (incl. Word, Excel, Powerpoint & Access)
  • Install and support faculty/staff office computers, including data and application migration to new systems
  • Record and verify computer asset placement to facilitate collegiate replacement of aged systems
  • Coordinate support calls with ITS Help Desk (4-4357)
  • Support college-funded Instructional Computing Facilities where present (not ITC labs)
  • Administer user training 
    —Informal one-on-one user training (new users, computers, tools, etc.)
    —Periodic topical user meetings and seminars
    —CLAS Technology Services e-mail announcements

As time permits, we

  • Support other, department-specific software
  • Install & support computers in the offices of teaching and research assistants

Special Notes

  • We do not troubleshoot personally-owned computers or provide support for home networks

CLAS Technology Services Staff Directory

CLAS Technology Services org chart

Name Email Phone Office
Rebekah Ahrens
Senior Application Developer
rebekah-ahrens@uiowa.edu 319-335-1954 38 MH
Scott Allendorf
Senior Systems Administrator
scott-allendorf@uiowa.edu 319-335-0003 303A MLH
Brian Bacher
IT Support Consultant
brian-bacher@uiowa.edu 319-335-1512 303A MLH
Mark Bennett
Senior Application Developer
mark-bennett@uiowa.edu 319-384-1843 21 SH
Erik Billeci
IT Support Consultant
erik-billeci@uiowa.edu 319-335-0140 38 BB
Lance Bolton
Senior Director of IT
lance-bolton@uiowa.edu 319-335-3554 38 MH
Matthew Brockman
Senior Systems Administrator
matthew-brockman@uiowa.edu 319-335-2730 303A MLH
Hugh Brown
Senior Systems Administrator
hugh-brown@uiowa.edu 319-384-2073 303A MLH
Nick Carino-Marek
Senior IT Support Consultant
nicholas-carino-marek@uiowa.edu   319-335-0163 232 JH
Bradley Carson
Senior Systems Administrator
bradley-carson@uiowa.edu 319-353-2243 303A MLH
Michael Ciha
IT Support Analyst
michael-ciha@uiowa.edu 319-384-4204 E127 CB
Aran Cox
Senior Systems Administrator
aran-cox@uiowa.edu 319-335-0747 303A MLH
Mike Cranston
Creative Media Developer
michael-cranston@uiowa.edu 319-467-4779 21 SH
Andrew Evans
Senior IT Support Consultant
andrew-evans@uiowa.edu 319-384-2959 E149 VAB
Peter Franke
IT Support Consultant
peter-franke@uiowa.edu 319-335-1471 E127 CB
Mark Fullenkamp
Senior Application Developer
mark-fullenkamp@uiowa.edu 319-353-2341 21 SH
Jennifer Graham
Application Developer
jennifer-l-arnold@uiowa.edu 319-335-1703 38 MH
Michael Graham
IT Support Analyst
michael-p-graham@uiowa.edu 319-467-3988 38 MH
Ryan Hallock
IT Support Analyst
ryan-hallock@uiowa.edu 319-335-3744 210A VAN
Mike Hendrickson
Mac Systems Administrator
mike-hendrickson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2768 E326 AJB
David Henson
IT Support Consultant
david-henson@uiowa.edu 319-335-0140 38 BB
Hans Hoerschelman
Lead Application Developer
hans-hoerschelman@uiowa.edu 319-335-0132 38 MH
Dan Holstad
Senior Systems Administrator
dan-holstad@uiowa.edu 319-335-0748 303A MLH
Griffin Idleman
IT Support Consultant
griffin-idleman@uiowa.edu 319335-5543 350 ABW
Josh Johnson
IT Support Consultant
joshua-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-8858 115 SHC
Alex Junk
Business Intelligence Architect
alexander-junk@uiowa.edu 319-384-3629 38 MH
Liz Montag
IT Support Analyst
elizabeth-montag@uiowa.edu 319-467-3978 623 PH
Trent Petersen
Senior IT Support Consultant
trenten-petersen@uiowa.edu 319-353-3616 G14 SLP
Isaac Podolefsky
Senior Project Manager
isaac-podolefsky@uiowa.edu 319-384-1942 28 MH
Bryan Ringen
IT Support Consultant
bryan-ringen@uiowa.edu 319-335-0149 E127 CB
Adam Skibbe
Systems Administrator
adam-skibbe@uiowa.edu 319-335-0157 316 JH
Jenifer Steil
IT Director
jenifer-steil@uiowa.edu 319-384-1913 38 MH
Terry Tharp
IT Support Consultant
terry-tharp@uiowa.edu 319-467-1173 209 MH
Kris Thompson
IT Support Consultant
kris-thompson@uiowa.edu 319-335-3744 210A VAN
JJ Urich
Director Research, Unix
Systems & Infrastructure
joseph-urich@uiowa.edu 319-335-0750 303A MLH
John Winget
IT Support Consultant
john-a-winget@uiowa.edu 319-335-1869 1212 VOX
Meliza Wise
Data Visualization Specialist
romeliza-wise@uiowa.edu 319-353-2639 38 MH
Jessica Yoder
IT Project Coordinator
jessica-yoder@uiowa.edu 319-467-1562 38 MH