Meet the 2018 MLK Staff Excellence and CLAS Leadership Award Recipients

awards certificatesThe 2019 recipients of the most prestigious awards given by the College to College of Liberal Arts & Sciences staff were celebrated at a reception in the Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories building. (See photos below.)

The Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff whose accomplishments and contributions to the College and the University have benefited their departments and brought honor or recognition to the College and the University. 

The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Leadership Award recognizes staff members who exhibited exceptional leadership qualities and positively impacted individuals, departments, or the College.

At the reception, CLAS Executive Associate Dean Raul Curto expressed the College's respect and gratitude for the winners' service.

The Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award is named for an alumna who earned a B.A. degree in speech from CLAS in 1930, and went on to work for the University, retiring in the 1940s. When she died in 1997, she left an estate gift that funds the Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Awards and the Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Awards, which help staff members pursue professional-development opportunities.

The winners of the 2019 Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award are:

  • Jennifer Cooper, School of Journalism & Mass Communication 
  • Lisa Gray, CLAS Strategic communications
  • Dan Holstad, CLAS Technology Services
  • Lynn Lanning, CLAS Academic Programs and Student Development
  • Abby Rush, Departments of Philosophy and Rhetoric
  • Dale Swenson, Department of Chemistry

Congratulations to all!

Photos from the 2019 reception for the recipients of the Mary Louise Kelley Staff Excellence Award and CLAS Leadership Award (click to enlarge):