CLAS recognizes 2013-2014 faculty honorees

Monday, April 14, 2014

The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts & Sciences recognizes the accomplishments of more than 50 faculty members (listed below) who garnered major College and University awards, as well as significant national and international distinctions, over the past academic year (through March 2014).

College and University Awards

Collegiate Fellow

Colin Gordon, History
Kevin Kregel, Health and Human Physiology

Collegiate Scholar

Claire Fox, English; Spanish and Portuguese
Susan Chrysler White, Art and Art History

Dean’s Scholar

Sarah Kanouse, Art and Art History
Randall McEntaffer, Physics and Astronomy

Collegiate Teaching Award

Amber Brian, Spanish and Portuguese
Will Jennings, Rhetoric
Paul Kalina, Theatre Arts
Randall McEntaffer, Physics and Astronomy
Kristine Muñoz, Communication Studies
David Peate, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Collegiate Teaching Award (Honorable Mention)

Stephen Berry, Journalism and Mass Communication
Sara Sanders, Social Work

CLAS Outstanding Outreach and Public Engagement Award

Rachel Marie-Crane Williams, Art and Art History; Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies
Vincent Rodgers, Physics and Astronomy

Creative Distinguished Achievement in Research Award, Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Ed Folsom, English

Distinguished Achievement Award, Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women

Teresa Mangum, Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies

May Brodbeck Humanities Fellowship

Phillip Round, English

Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence

Michael Flatté, Physics and Astronomy
Sarah Larsen, Chemistry

President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence

Jay Holstein, Religious Studies

Scholar of the Year, Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Vicki Grassian, Chemistry

Elected Fellow in Scholarly Association

Fellow, Academic Leadership Program, Committee on Institutional Cooperation

Rachel Marie-Crane Williams, Art and Art History; Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies

Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Advanced Research Collaborative, City University of New York Graduate Center

Sarah Bruch, Sociology

Elected Member, The College of Fellows of the American Theatre

Alan MacVey, Theatre Arts

Fellow, American Physical Society

Thomas Boggess, Physics and Astronomy

Simon's Fellow in Mathematics, Simon Foundation

Rodica Curtu, Mathematics
Hao Fang, Mathematics

Stanford Humanities Center External Fellow, Stanford Humanities Center

Marquis Berrey, Classics

Stewart Fellow in the Princeton Humanities Council, Princeton University

Frederick Smith, Religious Studies; Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures

Fellow, Electrochemical Society

Johna Leddy, Chemistry

Research Awards

E. Ph. Goldschmidt Fellowship, Rare Book School

Adam Hooks, English

Research Fellowship, Loeb Classical Library Foundation

John Finamore, Classics

Mid-Career Investigator Award, North American Society for the Study of Personality Disorders

Kristian Markon, Psychology

Nancy Grace Roman Technology Fellowship in Astrophysics for Early Career Researchers—Concept Phase, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Randall McEntaffer, Physics and Astronomy

Postdoctoral Fellowship, The Newcomb College Institute, Tulane University

Stephanie Jones-Rogers, History; Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies

Research Award, Comparative Cognition Society

Edward Wasserman, Psychology

Richard P. Feynman Postdoctoral Fellowship

Scott Baalrud, Physics and Astronomy

Samuel H. Kress Senior Fellowship, Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, National Gallery of Art

Robert Bork, Art and Art History

Wolfram Innovator Award, Wolfram Research

Keith Stroyan, Mathematics

National Science Foundation CAREER Award

Sara Mason, Chemistry

Disciplinary and Professional Honors

Award for Distinguished Public Service, American Mathematical Society

Philip Kutzko, Mathematics

Distinguished Achievement Citation, Ohio Wesleyan University

Ed Folsom, English

National Council on the Humanities, National Endowment for the Humanities

Katherine Tachau, History

National Humanities Medal, National Endowment for the Arts

Marilynne Robinson, Creative Writing

Outreach Prize, American Philological Association

Robert Ketterer, Classics

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists & Engineering, National Institutes of Health

Randall McEntaffer, Physics and Astronomy

Officers in Professional Organizations

Chair, American Physical Division of Plasma Physics

Frederick Skiff, Physics and Astronomy

Elected Vice Chair, Division of Materials Physics, American Physical Society

Michael Flatté, Physics and Astronomy

Publication and Creative Awards

Best Conference Paper in Political Networks Prize, American Political Science Association

Frederick Boehmke, Political Science

Best Instructional Software Award, American Political Science Association

G.R. Boynton, Political Science

Editorial Board Selection, 75th Anniversary, Public Administration Review

Caroline Tolbert, Political Science

Editor's Award, American Journal of Audiology

Lenore Holte, Communication Sciences and Disorders
J. Bruce Tomblin, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Fromm Commission, Fromm Music Foundation, Harvard University

David Gompper, Music

Honorable Mention, Oscar G. Brockett Essay Prize, jointly awarded by the American Society for Theatre Research and the Oscar G. Brockett Center of Theatre History and Criticism, The University of Texas at Austin

Kim Marra, Theatre Arts; American Studies

Katherine Singer Kovács Outstanding Essay Award, Society of Cinema and Media Studies

Paula Amad, Cinematic Arts

Library Lions Award, New York Public Library

Marilynne Robinson, Creative Writing

Man Booker International Prize Finalist, Booker Prize Foundation

Marilynne Robinson, Creative Writing

The Nick Aaron Ford-Waters Edward Turpin Symposium on African American Literature Award, Morgan State University

Michael Hill, English

The Pushcart Prize, Pushcart Press

Marilynne Robinson, Creative Writing

Awards to Emeritus Faculty

Robert T. Aangeenbrug Distinguished Career Award, Association of American Geographers

Gerard Rushton, Geographical and Sustainability Sciences

The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences offers about 70 majors across the humanities; fine, performing and literary arts; natural and mathematical sciences; social and behavioral sciences; and communication disciplines. About 15,000 undergraduate and nearly 2,000 graduate students study each year in the college’s 37 departments, led by faculty at the forefront of teaching and research in their disciplines. The college teaches all Iowa undergraduates through the college's general education program, CLAS CORE. About 80 percent of all Iowa undergraduates begin their academic journey in CLAS. The college confers about 60 percent of the university's bachelor's degrees each academic year.