Faculty

List of Department of Religious Studies Staff
Name Phone E-mail Office

Robert R. Cargill

Associate Professor, Judaism and Christianity, Joint appointment with Department of Classics

319-335-1996

robert-cargill@uiowa.edu

209 Jefferson Building

Diana Fritz Cates (she, her, hers)

Professor, Religious Ethics, Director of Graduate Studies

diana-cates@uiowa.edu

314 Gilmore Hall

Hyaeweol Choi (she, her, hers)

Professor; C. Maxwell and Elizabeth M. Stanley Family and Korea Foundation Chair in Korean Studies;, Joint appointment with the Department of Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies;, Director of the Korean Studies Research Network

319-335-2160

hyaeweol-choi@uiowa.edu

105 Gilmore Hall

Paul Dilley (he, him, his)

Associate Professor, Ancient Mediterranean Religions, Joint appointment with the Department of Classics

319-335-2168

paul-dilley@uiowa.edu

408 Gilmore Hall

Jay A. Holstein

J.J. Mallon Teaching Chair in Judaic Studies

319-335-3716

jay-holstein@uiowa.edu

Raymond A. Mentzer

Daniel J. Krumm Family Chair in Reformation Studies, Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History

319-335-2161

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

305 Gilmore Hall

Kristy Nabhan-Warren (she, her, hers)

Professor, V.O. and Elizabeth Kahl Figge Chair in Catholic Studies, Departments of Religious Studies and Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies

319-335-2167

kristy-nabhan-warren@uiowa.edu

309 Gilmore Hall

Morten Schl├╝tter (he, him, his)

Departmental Executive Officer (Chair) , Associate Professor, Chinese Religion and Buddhist Studies, International Programs

319-335-2165

morten-schlutter@uiowa.edu

316 Gilmore Hall

Jordan Smith

Lecturer, Biblical Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies

319-335-2169

jordan-a-smith@uiowa.edu

312 Gilmore Hall

Ahmed E. Souaiaia

Associate Professor, Islamic Studies, Adjunct Faculty (College of Law)

319-353-2845

ahmed-souaiaia@uiowa.edu

404 Gilmore Hall

Jenna Supp-Montgomerie (she/her/hers)

Assistant Professor, Religion and Media, American Religious History, Globalization, Critical Theory, Departments of Religious Studies and Communication Studies

319-335-2177

jenna-supp-montgomerie@uiowa.edu

308 Gilmore Hall

Richard Brent Turner

Professor, African American Religious History, Interdisciplinary program faculty (African American Studies and International Studies)

319-335-2175

richard-turner@uiowa.edu

310 Gilmore Hall / 508 JB