Faculty

List of Department of Religious Studies Staff
Name Phone E-mail Office

Robert R. Cargill

Assistant Professor, Judaism and Christianity, Joint appointment with Department of Classics

319-335-1996

robert-cargill@uiowa.edu

209 JB

Diana Fritz Cates

Professor, Religious Ethics

diana-cates@uiowa.edu

307 Gilmore Hall

Hyaeweol Choi

C. Maxwell and Elizabeth M. Stanley Family and Korea Foundation Chair in Korean Studies

319-335-2164

hyaeweol-choi@uiowa.edu

406 Gilmore Hall

Paul Dilley

Associate Professor, Ancient Mediterranean Religions, Joint appointment with the Department of Classics

319-335-2168

paul-dilley@uiowa.edu

408 Gilmore Hall

Robert Gerstmyer

Lecturer

319-353-2713

robert-gerstmyer@uiowa.edu

407 Gilh

Jay A. Holstein

J.J. Mallon Teaching Chair in Judaic Studies

319-335-3716

jay-holstein@uiowa.edu

313 Gilmore Hall

Raymond A. Mentzer

Daniel J. Krumm Family Chair in Reformation Studies, Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History

319-335-2161

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

305 Gilmore Hall

Kristy Nabhan-Warren

V.O. and Elizabeth Kahl Figge Fellow in Catholic Studies

319-335-2167

kristy-nabhan-warren@uiowa.edu

309 Gilmore Hall

Michelene E. Pesantubbee

Associate Professor, American Indian Native Studies

319-335-2116

michelene-pesantubbe@uiowa.edu

312 Gilmore Hall

Morten Schl├╝tter

Department Chair, Associate Professor, Chinese Religion and Buddhist Studies

319-335-2165

morten-schlutter@uiowa.edu

316 Gilmore Hall

Jordan Smith

Lecturer, Biblical Studies, Undergraduate Outreach Coordinator

319-335-2169

jordan-a-smith@uiowa.edu

409 Gilh

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, Sanskrit and Classical Indian Religions, Joint appt. with the Dept. of Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures

319-335-2178

frederick-smith@uiowa.edu

319 Gilmore Hall

Ahmed E. Souaiaia

Associate Professor, Islamic Studies, Adjunct Faculty (College of Law)

319-353-2845

ahmed-souaiaia@uiowa.edu

404 Gilmore Hall

Jenna Supp-Montgomerie

Assistant Professor, Religion and Media, American Religious History, Globalization, Critical Theory

319-335-2177

jenna-supp-montgomerie@uiowa.edu

308 Gilmore Hall

Richard Brent Turner

Professor, African American Religious History, Interdisciplinary program faculty (African American Studies and International Studies)

319-335-2175

richard-turner@uiowa.edu

310 Gilmore Hall / 508 JB