You are here

Scholarships and Awards

History Department Scholarships and Awards

Cash award amounts vary by scholarship and year.

Stow Persons Award for Outstanding Senior Honors Thesis
An undergraduate award given to the student who writes the Best Honors Thesis for the academic year.  In honor of Carver Professor of History, Stow Persons (1913-2006), who was a distinguished member of the department from 1950 until his retirement in 1981.

Alan B. Spitzer Scholarship
One annual scholarship awarded to an undergraduate in History who demonstrates exceptional promise and dedication to the study of history.  Qualifications: junior standing and minimum of 3.25 GPA in History.

William L.M. & William E. Burke Scholarship
To support one or more annual scholarships for students studying European history; preference to undergraduate students.  To provide students with travel expenses to and from Europe to expand their study – social history, urban history, architecture, and/or art.

William Eugene Wolters Scholarship
One or more annual scholarships, based on need and merit, awarded to a junior or senior student majoring in history, with a special interest in American History.

Departmental Academic Achievement Award
This award honors the two graduating seniors with the highest cumulative GPA in the History major.

Departmental Service Award
This award recognizes an undergraduate history major who has demonstrated exceptional service and leadership to the study of History at the University of Iowa.


Other UIowa Undergraduate Research Funding

Stanley Undergraduate Awards for International Research (deadline February 6)

Hawkeye Experience Grant (opens in January)

Excellence in Undergraduate Research (deadline February 3)

Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduate (ICRU) Fellowship

The Dewey Stuit Fund for Undergraduate Research (deadline April)

Ferentz Undergraduate Fellowships for Research (deadline December)

Honors Travel Grants for Experiential Learning (must be University Honors) (no deadline)

See complete list of scholarships listed at the University of Iowa Scholarship Portal, (most deadlines for CLAS scholarships are February 2).