People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Department of History Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area
Name E-mail Area

Douglas Baynton

Professor

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

Mériam Belli

Associate Professor

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

History of the Modern Middle East

Shuang Chen

Associate Professor

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

Chinese History

Jeffrey L. Cox

Professor

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

British Social, Imperial, and Religious History

Mariola Espinosa

Associate Professor

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Public Health and Medicine, Empire & Caribbean

Thomas P. Gallanis

Professor of Law

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

Legal History of England and Continental Europe, Secondary Appointment in History

James L. Giblin

Professor

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

African History

Colin Gordon

Professor

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

20th Century U.S. History

Elizabeth Heineman

Professor and Chair

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Modern Germany & Europe Women, Gender, & Sexuality, Human Rights

Michaela Hoenicke Moore

Associate Professor

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

United States in the World, International Relations, Modern European & U.S. History

Raymond A. Mentzer

Professor of Religious Studies

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History, Secondary Appointment in History

Tom Arne Midtrød

Associate Professor

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Early North America

Michael E. Moore

Associate Professor

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Medieval and European History

Rosemary Moore

Lecturer

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Ancient History

Matthew Noellert

Assistant Professor

matthew-noellert@uiowa.edu

Modern Chinese History

Alyssa Park

Assistant Professor

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

Modern Korean History

H. Glenn Penny

Professor

h-penny@uiowa.edu

Modern European History, Critical Theory, Migration and Diaspora, History of Anthropology

R. Tyler Priest

Associate Professor of History and Geography

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. History, Energy/Environmental History, Global History, History of Business & Technology, Public History

Jacki Thompson Rand

Associate Professor

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Native North America

Leslie A. Schwalm

Professor

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Slavery, Civil War, & Reconstruction, Women's, Gender, & African-American History, 19th Century U.S. History

Jennifer Sessions

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Modern France, European Empires, Cultural History

Landon Storrs

Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

Twentieth-Century U.S. Social and Political History

Katherine H. Tachau

Professor

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Medieval Intellectual History, History of Science, Medieval Universities, Latin Paleography, History of Medieval Manuscript Book

Stephen Vlastos

Professor

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu

Modern Japanese History

Stephen Warren

Associate Professor

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

American Indian histories and cultures, Ethno-historical methods

Nick Yablon

Associate Professor of American Studies

nick-yablon@uiowa.edu

Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory, Secondary Appointment in History

Elizabeth Yale

Lecturer

elizabeth-yale@uiowa.edu

Early Modern Europe, Early Modern England

Michael Zmolek

Lecturer

michael-zmolek@uiowa.edu

World History

Visiting Faculty

Department of History Visiting Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area.
Name E-mail Area

Faye Bartram

Visiting Assistant Professor

faye-bartram@uiowa.edu

Soviet and French post-war history through film

Jo Butterfield

Visiting Assistant Professor

jo-butterfield@uiowa.edu

Modern U.S.; Women and Gender, Human Rights

Heather Cooper

Visiting Assistant Professor

heather-cooper@uiowa.edu

19th Century African American History; Race & Gender

Alberto Ortiz Diaz

Visiting Assistant Professor

alberto-ortizdiaz@uiowa.edu

Global Health, Latin America and the Caribbean, History of Incarceration

Briana Smith

Visiting Assistant Professor

briana-smith@uiowa.edu

Modern Germany

David Tucker

Visiting Assistant Professor

david-tucker@uiowa.edu

Asian History (Japan, China)

Adjunct Faculty

Department of History Adjunct Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area.
Name E-mail Area

Ari Ariel

Adjunct Assistant Professor

ari-ariel@uiowa.edu

Modern Middle East

Marvin L. Bergman

Adjunct Assistant Professor

marvin-bergman@uiowa.edu

State Historical Society of Iowa, Editor, The Annals of Iowa

Eric Casteel

Adjunct Assistant Professor

eric-casteel@uiowa.edu

History of Science, Early Modern Europe, Science and Religion, European Enlightenment

Brian Donovan

Adjunct Assistant Professor

brian-donovan@uiowa.edu

American Guilded Age, Disability Studies, Gender Studies

Dauna Kiser

Adjunct Assistant Professor

dauna-kiser@uiowa.edu

Medieval European History, Medieval Intellectual History

Kären M. Mason

Adjunct Assistant Professor

karen-mason@uiowa.edu

Curator, Iowa Women’s Archives, University of Iowa Libraries

David McCartney

Adjunct Lecturer

david-mccartney@uiowa.edu

University of Iowa Archivist, Special Collections

John McKerley

Adjunct Assistant Professor

john-mckerley@uiowa.edu

Labor, Civil Rights, Immigration, Oral and Public History

Franklin Yoder

Adjunct Assistant Professor

franklin-yoder@uiowa.edu

Iowa History, Amish History