People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Department of History Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area
Name E-mail Area

Ari Ariel

Lecturer and Honors Advisor for International Studies

ari-ariel@uiowa.edu

Modern Middle East

Simon Balto

Assistant Professor

simon-balto@uiowa.edu

African American History

Douglas Baynton

Professor

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

Mériam Belli

Associate Professor

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

History of the modern Middle East, Social and Cultural history of the Arab Middle East, Transnational history of death and dying, Oral history and memory, Boundaries and mobility

Shuang Chen

Associate Professor

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

History of late imperial and modern China, Social and economic history, Social stratification, Historical demography, Chinese law and society

Charles Connerly

Professor and Director of the School of Urban and Regional Planning

charles-connerly@uiowa.edu

Urban and Regional Planning, Civil Rights and Urban Planning, Secondary appointment in History

Jeffrey L. Cox

Professor

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

British social, imperial, and religious history, The decline of religion in the European heartland of Christianity, Christianity in the non-western world, Secularization Theory

Glenn Ehrstine

Associate Professor

glenn-ehrstine@uiowa.edu

Literature, religion, and politics in medieval and early modern Germany, Secondary appointment in History

Mariola Espinosa

Associate Professor and Director of Global Health Studies

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Public health and medicine, Empire and Caribbean, Latin America

Thomas P. Gallanis

Professor of Law

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

Legal History of England and Continental Europe, Secondary Appointment in History

James L. Giblin

Professor

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

African history, 19th-20th century Tanzania and East Africa, Social history of Africa, Political history of post-colonial Tanzania, History of health and healing in Africa

Colin Gordon

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

20th century U.S. history, American public policy, American political economy, American urban history

Elizabeth Heineman

Professor

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Modern Germany and Europe, Gender and Sexuality, Historical memory, Human Rights and Atrocity

Michaela Hoenicke Moore

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

United States in the World, International relations, European and U.S. history, Political culture of the U.S. and its foreign policy

Raymond A. Mentzer

Professor of Religious Studies

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History, Secondary Appointment in History

Tom Arne Midtrød

Associate Professor

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Early North America, North American Indians, Atlantic World

Michael E. Moore

Associate Professor

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Medieval and European history, History of the Church, Papal history, Medieval Canon Law, Theory and Practice of Interpretation (Philology and Hermeneutics), History of Ideas, Late Medieval Intellectual history

Rosemary Moore

Lecturer

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Ancient history, Roman military, social dynamics between ranks, Roman society, Development of military discipline, Influence of civilian conduct on military authority and behavior

Lina-Maria Murillo

Assistant Professor

lina-murillo@uiowa.edu

Kristy Nabhan-Warren

Professor and V.O. and Elizabeth Kahl Figge Fellow in Catholic Studies

kristy-nabhan-warren@uiowa.edu

Religious Studies, Secondary appointment in History

Matthew Noellert

Assistant Professor

matthew-noellert@uiowa.edu

Modern China, Rural society, History of communism, Historical data analysis, Digital history

Alberto Ortiz Diaz

Assistant Professor of History and Global Health

alberto-ortizdiaz@uiowa.edu

Global Health, Latin America and the Caribbean, History of Incarceration

Alyssa Park

Assistant Professor and Honors Director

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

Modern Korean History

H. Glenn Penny

Professor

h-penny@uiowa.edu

Modern European history, Critical theory, Migration and diaspora, History of Anthropology, 19th century to present relationships between Europeans and non-Europeans

R. Tyler Priest

Associate Professor of History and Geography

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

20th century U.S. history, Energy and Environmental history, Energy Policy, History of Business and Technology, Public history

Jacki Thompson Rand

Associate Professor

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Native North America

Leslie A. Schwalm

Professor and Chair of Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Slavery (U.S. and Comparative), Women's history, 19th century U.S. history, History of Race, Civil War and Reconstruction

Ahmed E. Souaiaia

Associate Professor

ahmed-souaiaia@uiowa.edu

Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Adjunct Faculty (College of Law), Secondary appointment in History

Landon Storrs

Professor and Chair

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

20th Century U.S. Social and Political History

Katherine H. Tachau

Professor

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Medieval intellectual history, History of science and philosophy, Medieval Universities, Medieval Latin Paleography and Codicology, History of medieval manuscript art and illumination

Stephen Warren

Associate Professor of History and American Studies

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

American Indian histories and cultures, Ethno-historical methods, Iowa and Midwestern history, Community-Engaged Scholarship

Nick Yablon

Associate Professor

nick-yablon@uiowa.edu

Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory

Elizabeth Yale

Lecturer

elizabeth-yale@uiowa.edu

History of Science and Medicine, History of the Book, Early Modern Europe, British History

Michael Zmolek

Lecturer

michael-zmolek@uiowa.edu

World history, History and development of Capitalism, Evolution of manufacturing in England (aka [first] Industrial Revolution), International development, Environmental history and politics

Visiting Faculty

Department of History Visiting Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area.
Name E-mail Area

Faye Bartram

Visiting Assistant Professor

faye-bartram@uiowa.edu

Soviet and French post-war history through film

Jo Butterfield

Visiting Assistant Professor

jo-butterfield@uiowa.edu

Modern U.S.; Women and Gender, Human Rights

Heather Cooper

Visiting Assistant Professor

heather-cooper@uiowa.edu

19th Century African American History; Race & Gender

Aldrin Tinashe Magaya

Visiting Assistant Professor

aldrintinashe-magaya@uiowa.edu

Socio-Environmental History of Zimbabwe, African history

David Tucker

Visiting Assistant Professor

david-tucker@uiowa.edu

Asian History (Japan, China)

Aihua Zheng

Visiting Assistant Professor of History and Religious Studies

aihua-zheng@uiowa.edu

Modern Japan , Religions of East Asia, Zen Buddhism, Gender and Family in East Asia

Adjunct Faculty

Department of History Adjunct Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area.
Name E-mail Area

Marvin L. Bergman

Adjunct Assistant Professor

marvin-bergman@uiowa.edu

State Historical Society of Iowa, Editor, The Annals of Iowa

Brian Donovan

Adjunct Assistant Professor

brian-donovan@uiowa.edu

American Guilded Age, Disability Studies, Gender Studies

Dauna Kiser

Adjunct Assistant Professor

dauna-kiser@uiowa.edu

Medieval European History, Medieval Intellectual History

Kären M. Mason

Adjunct Assistant Professor

karen-mason@uiowa.edu

Curator, Iowa Women’s Archives, University of Iowa Libraries

David McCartney

Adjunct Lecturer

david-mccartney@uiowa.edu

University of Iowa Archivist, Special Collections

John McKerley

Adjunct Assistant Professor

john-mckerley@uiowa.edu

Labor, Civil Rights, Immigration, Oral and Public History

Jennifer Sessions

Adjunct Associate Professor

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Modern France, European empires, Cultural history, France and its overseas empire, Culture and politics

Franklin Yoder

Adjunct Assistant Professor

franklin-yoder@uiowa.edu

Iowa History, Amish History

Emeritus Faculty

Department of History Adjunct Faculty. First column is the name, second column is email, third column is area.
Name E-mail Area

R. David Arkush

Professor Emeritus

arkush@uiowa.edu

Modern China

Constance H. Berman

Professor Emerita

constance-berman@uiowa.edu

Medieval Social, Economic, Religious, and Women's History (France and Italy)

T. Dwight Bozeman

Professor Emeritus

tdbozeman@gmail.com

American Religious History

Kenneth Cmiel, In memory of

Lawrence E. Gelfand, In memory of

Ralph Giesey, In memory of

Early History of France

Paul R. Greenough

Professor Emeritus

paul-greenough@uiowa.edu

History of Modern India, Environmental and Global Health History

Sarah Hanley

Professor Emerita

sarah-hanley@uiowa.edu

Early Modern & Modern France, Politics, Society, & Gender, Law & Litigation

Ellis W. Hawley

Professor Emeritus
United States Economic, Cultural and Political History

Henry Horwitz

Professor Emeritus

henry-horwitz@uiowa.edu

Early Modern England, English Legal History

Kathleen Kamerick

Lecturer (Retired)

kathleen-kamerick@uiowa.edu

Medieval & Early Modern European History, History of the Book, Women's History

Linda K. Kerber

May Brodbeck Professor in the Liberal Arts and Professor of History Emerita, Lecturer in Law

linda-kerber@uiowa.edu

U.S. Women's History, Legal and Intellectual History, U.S. Early Republic

Jaroslaw Pelenski

Russian, Soviet, and East Central European History

Malcolm J. Rohrbough

Professor Emeritus

malcolm-rohrbough@uiowa.edu

History of the American West

David Schoenbaum

Professor Emeritus

david-schoenbaum@uiowa.edu

German and Military History, 19th & 20th Century Europe, International Relations, Social History of Music & The Violin

Alan Spitzer

Professor Emeritus
French Intellectual History

Allen Steinberg

Emeritus Associate Professor

allen-steinberg@uiowa.edu

American Social, Legal, & Urban History, Cultural Conflict in Modern America

H. Shelton Stromquist

Professor Emeritus

shelton-stromquist@uiowa.edu

American, Social, and Labor History

Stephen Vlastos

Professor Emeritus

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu

Modern Japanese history, Agrarian political economy during the Tokugawa and Meiji periods, Japanese culture, traditions and modernity, Japan and U.S. Relations, International relations in Asia Pacific region