Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

You are here

Statement on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Department of Health and Human Physiology strives to build and maintain an inclusive and diverse environment where differences of opinion, beliefs, and values are sought, listened to, respected, and valued. Through intentional efforts, the Department is dedicated to expanding education, participation, and leadership that reflects our expansive department and empowers individuals who(m) identify as minoritized and/or underrepresented (e.g. race/ethnicity, sexual orientation and gender identity, age, religion, disability, veteran status, etc.).  The department believes that diversity across academic, research, and extra-curricular settings is a vital component of educating future professionals.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

  • Nathaniel Jenkins, PhD, CSCS (Co-Chair)
  • Anna Jensen, MA (Co-Chair)
  • Gayle Walter, PhD, MPH, MCHES®
  • Kara Whitaker, PhD, MPH
  • Vitor Lira, PhD
  • Jeremy Parrish, MA, MBA, MSLaw
  • Alex Voss, MA
  • Bri Swope, MA, CCLS, CTRS
  • Justin Hagedorn, MA
  • Mimi Roberts (HHP DEI Student Committee Member)
  • Tahsin Khataei (HHP DEI Student Committee Member)

HHP DEI Student Committee

  • Hunter Arbogast
  • Jacky Raygoza
  • Jane Berg
  • Juliana Bempah
  • Kenneth Stellish
  • Mary Crotty
  • Maya Greer
  • Maya Heckart
  • Megan Chapman
  • Mercedes Juelfs
  • Mimi Roberts
  • Morgan Miller
  • Naomi Bratsch-Prince 
  • Natalie Knapp
  • Regan Blackwood
  • Rob Gilkey-Meisegeier
  • Roberto Moreno
  • Shaun Pothepalli
  • Maya Greer
  • Yuanjie Wu
  • Aidan Haftl
  • Bethel Tewabe

View DEI Resources