Nonprofit Leadership and Philanthropy Certificate Forms Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Collegiate Chapter

You are here

Thursday, December 3, 2020

Leading up to the 2020-2021 academic year, co-director of the Nonprofit Leadership and Philanthropy (NLP) certificate Jenifer Vick decided to form a collegiate chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) at the University of Iowa.

Association of Fundraising Professionals

The chapter is a student organization that works to promote the profession of fundraising to University of Iowa students through education, training, meetings, workshops, publications, and other relevant activities. Student members will acquire the knowledge and skills to professionally and ethically fundraise money to support charities and nonprofit organizations.

Work began to get the chapter up and running as the semester began. Jenifer Vick and Sarah Nelson, Administrative Services Coordinator for the certificate, contacted students in the NLP certificate program to gauge interest in the chapter and received many enthusiastic responses. After speaking more in depth with some of the students who showed interest, the board for the chapter was formed.

The first chapter board meeting was held on Thursday, November 5 over Zoom, and members discussed the status of the chapter as a registered student organization at the University, membership and recruitment, and promotion and programming. A virtual membership kickoff event is scheduled for the beginning of February.

An AFP Eastern Iowa professional advisor serves as a resource and guide for producing collegiate chapter initiatives and strategic development. Chastity Dillard, Development Director and Volunteer Coordinator of The Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County, will serve as the chapter’s Professional Advisor. Jenifer will serve as the Faculty Advisor, and Sarah will serve as the Chapter Administrator. And the rest of the student-led board includes: Izabel Houselog (President), Kaleb Cook (Vice President & Program Chair), Taylor Jackson (Secretary), Coltin Ball (Treasurer), James Dykeman (Membership Chair), Lauren Shaw (Development Chair), and Lizzie Ambre (Communications Chair).

All involved are excited to focus on promotion and recruitment as the chapter continues in its first year of existence.