People

The Iowa faculty includes distinguished scholars in all the main fields of our discipline. They serve on professional boards of national and international significance. They have published many important research papers and monographs. And many have been awarded prizes for teaching excellence. As a group, the Political Science faculty is among the most highly ranked in the University.

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

American Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

Frederick J. Boehmke

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
363 SH M 10:00-11:00am (808 JB), T 10:30-11:30am (363 SH), TH 9:30-10:30am (363 SH)

and by appointment

frederick-boehmke@uiowa.edu

Cary R. Covington

Associate Professor
305 SH T, Th 10:30-12:00pm

and by appointment

cary-covington@uiowa.edu

Douglas Dion

Associate Professor
351 SH W 10:30-12:00pm F 1:00- 2:30pm

and by appointment

douglas-dion@uiowa.edu

Timothy M. Hagle

Associate Professor
347 SH T 4:45 – 6:15pm & Th 2:00 – 3:30pm

and by appointment

timothy-hagle@uiowa.edu

Jim Leach

Visiting Professor
359 SH By appointment

james-leach@uiowa.edu

Nicholas Martini

Visting Assistant Professor
342 SH T 11:00-12:00pm & TH 11:00-1:00pm

and by appointment

nicholas-martini@uiowa.edu

Tracy Osborn

Associate Professor; Director of PhD Placement
375 SH T, Th 10:30 – 12:00pm

tracy-osborn@uiowa.edu

Julianna Pacheco

Assistant Professor
326 SH M 11:30 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

julianna-pacheco@uiowa.edu

Tom W. Rice

Faculty Director
Des Moines Email for appointment

tom-rice@uiowa.edu

Rene Rocha

Associate Professor
345 SH T 9:00-11:00am & W 1:00-2:00pm

and by appointment

rene-rocha@uiowa.edu

Kelly Shaw

Des Moines Internship Program
Foyer of Pappajohn Center - Des Moines, IA F 11:00-12:00pm

and by appointment

kelly-shaw@uiowa.edu

Caroline J. Tolbert

Professor
321 SH T, Th 11:00 – 1:00pm

and by appointment

caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu

Comparative Politics
Name Office Office hours Email

Ambassador Ronald K. McMullen

Lecturer
338 SH T, Th 8:00– 10:00am

and by appointment

ronald-mcmullen@uiowa.edu

Elise Pizzi

Assistant Professor

elise-pizzi@uiowa.edu

William M. Reisinger

Professor
317 SH T 9:30 - 10:45am & 2:00 - 3:00pm ; Th 9:30-10:45am

and by appointment

william-reisinger@uiowa.edu

Frederick Solt

Assistant Professor
324 SH T, TH 9:30-11:00am

and by appointment

frederick-solt@uiowa.edu

Wenfang Tang

Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, and C. Maxwell and Elizabeth M. Stanley Family and Hua Hsia Chair of Chinese Culture and Institutions
371 SH By appointment

wenfang-tang@uiowa.edu

International Relations
Name Office Office hours Email

Nicholas Grossman

Lecturer
369 SH T, TH 1:00 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

nicholas-grossman@uiowa.edu

Kelly M. Kadera

Associate Professor
373 SH T, Th 2:00-3:30pm

and by appointment

kelly-kadera@uiowa.edu

Brian Lai

Associate Professor
319 SH M,W 1:45 – 3:20pm

and by appointment

brian-lai@uiowa.edu

Nicholas Martini

Visting Assistant Professor
342 SH T 11:00-12:00pm & TH 11:00-1:00pm

and by appointment

nicholas-martini@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Menninga

Assistant Professor
314 SH By appointment

elizabeth-menninga@uiowa.edu

Sara Mitchell

Department Chair & Professor
307 SH By appointment

sara-mitchell@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Prorok

Assistant Professor
311 SH M,W 1:30-3:00pm

alyssa-prorok@uiowa.edu

Political Methodology
Name Office Office hours Email

Frederick J. Boehmke

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
363 SH M 10:00-11:00am (808 JB), T 10:30-11:30am (363 SH), TH 9:30-10:30am (363 SH)

and by appointment

frederick-boehmke@uiowa.edu

Douglas Dion

Associate Professor
351 SH W 10:30-12:00pm F 1:00- 2:30pm

and by appointment

douglas-dion@uiowa.edu

Brian Lai

Associate Professor
319 SH M,W 1:45 – 3:20pm

and by appointment

brian-lai@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Menninga

Assistant Professor
314 SH By appointment

elizabeth-menninga@uiowa.edu

Sara Mitchell

Department Chair & Professor
307 SH By appointment

sara-mitchell@uiowa.edu

Julianna Pacheco

Assistant Professor
326 SH M 11:30 – 2:30pm

and by appointment

julianna-pacheco@uiowa.edu

Frederick Solt

Assistant Professor
324 SH T, TH 9:30-11:00am

and by appointment

frederick-solt@uiowa.edu

Caroline J. Tolbert

Professor
321 SH T, Th 11:00 – 1:00pm

and by appointment

caroline-tolbert@uiowa.edu

Political Theory
Name Office Office hours Email

Douglas Dion

Associate Professor
351 SH W 10:30-12:00pm F 1:00- 2:30pm

and by appointment

douglas-dion@uiowa.edu

Paul Gowder

Associate Professor of Law
407 BLB Email for appointment

paul-gowder@uiowa.edu

John S. Nelson

Professor
331 SH T, TH 12:30-1:45pm

and by appointment

john-nelson@uiowa.edu