Alumni Advisory Board

You are here

The Department of Political Science recognizes the value of alumni support in continuing its tradition of excellence. The Alumni Advisory Board helps strengthen instructional, research, and service programs and expands the department's financial resources. Primary tasks involve selecting the undergraduate paper award winners, advising the department on undergraduate programs/internships, and assisting with fundraising for internship programs. The annual spring meeting held on campus includes attendance at the yearly scholarship award ceremony and a speed networking session, which is very popular with students. The department also has opportunities for board members to teach one-week classes or be featured panelists at career workshops. Each board member makes a significant annual gift to the University of Iowa Foundation designated for the Department of Political Science Development Fund.

Board members are invited by the department chair to serve two-year terms. The board meets on campus in the spring and by teleconference in the fall. If you would like more information on the board and its activities, or if you are interested in serving on the board, please contact the department chair, Wenfang Tang.

2018 Spring Meeting

The eighth annual meeting of the Alumni Advisory Board was held Friday, April 27. On Thursday, April 26, several board members participated in a speed mentoring session to provide career advice to our undergraduate students. Four students nominated for the 2018 Undergraduate Paper Award presented their projects in poster form and the board selected the winners from the finalists, with board president Joe Gaylord presenting the awards at the department’s undergraduate award ceremony. The board meeting on Friday also involved discussions with faculty and university administrators about the department’s graduate and undergraduate programs, the expansion of the Alumni Advisory Board, and fundraising for the political science endowment. The board reiterated its commitment to offering career workshops, lecturing in classes, offering one-credit hour seminars, and supporting the annual paper award.



(Front Row, L-R) Liz Summy, Angela Kelley, Joe Gaylord, Greg J. Bielawski, Katie Deibert

(Middle Row, L-R) Joe Goldberg, Darrell Netherton, Charles Krogmeier, Tom Dutton

(Back Row, L-R) Richard Tyner, Wenfang Tang, John Baker, Caroline Tolbert (faculty), Jeffery Judge