Faculty Assembly

The Faculty Assembly is a representative body of the faculty within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The Faculty Assembly meets almost every month during the academic year to deliberate and act on major policy questions, often referred to the Assembly by the College Executive Committee or by the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee.

The Assembly also functions as a forum on issues of importance to the faculty and to the College or University. 

For a complete description of the powers, duties, and procedures of the Faculty Assembly, see Article V of the CLAS Manual of Policy and Procedure.

Current Agenda

Approved Minutes

Officers 2023-2024

Faculty Assembly Members 2023-2024

View the list of current FA members. Faculty Assembly comprises both elected and appointed members. The elected members represent one of four CLAS electoral groups. Appointed members represent their own department or unit and are often appointed by the DEO or elected by the faculty within that unit. Additional information is available at Faculty Elections.

Schedule 2023-2024

All meetings are at 3:30-5:00 p.m. via Zoom or possibly in person
Please contact Rebecca Tritten (rebecca-tritten@uiowa.edu) for the Zoom meeting link

September 20, 2023
October 18, 2023
November 15, 2023 
January 24, 2024
February 21, 2024
March 27, 2024
April 24, 2024

Agenda Committee

The purpose of the Agenda Committee is to assist in communication and planning across the various governance committees of the College, consulting with the Chair of the FA as needed. The agenda committee is composed of the officers of the Assembly as well as liaisons from Executive Committee, Graduate Educational Policy Committee, and Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee, with the Chair of the Assembly serving as Chair of the Agenda Committee. Any voting faculty member from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences may forward agenda suggestions to the Chair.

FA Appointees to CLAS Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

  • Jane Nachtman, Physics and Astronomy, term ends May 2024
  • Becky Gonzalez, Spanish and Portuguese, term ends May 2024
  • Andrew Owens, Cinematic Arts, term ends May 2026
  • Kendra Strand, Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures, term ends May 2025
  • Sujatha Sosale, Journalism and Mass Communication, term ends May 2026