Faculty

Listing of Faculty in the department
Name Phone E-mail Office

Bluford Adams

Associate Professor of English & American Studies

(319) 335-0461

bluford-adams@uiowa.edu

308 English-Philosophy Building

Racial and ethnic studies and regionalism

Susan Birrell

Professor of American Studies & Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies

(319) 335-9337

susan-birrell@uiowa.edu

722 Jefferson Building

Critical cultural analyses of sport and leisure

Steven Horowitz

Adjunct Assistant Professor

steven-horowitz@uiowa.edu


American popular music and subcultures

Kim Marra

Professor of American Studies and Theatre Arts

(319) 353-2402

kim-marra@uiowa.edu

Room 200, 108 River Street

Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century U.S. theatre and performance; feminist, queer, and animal studies

Thomas Oates

Associate Professor of American Studies

(319) 335-0316

thomas-oates@uiowa.edu

728 Jefferson Building

Sport media, critical/cultural studies

Catriona (Tina) Parratt

Associate Professor of American Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Sport Studies

(319) 335-9339

catriona-parratt@uiowa.edu

720 Jefferson Building

History of sport and leisure; diversity and sport; sport historiography

Russell Peterson

Adjunct Assistant Professor

russell-peterson@uiowa.edu


American politics, political humor

Horace Porter

F. Wendell Miller Professor of English and American Studies

(319) 335-2216

horace-porter@uiowa.edu

718 Jefferson Building

Twentieth-century American and African American fiction; memoirs, autobiography

Lauren Rabinovitz

Professor of American Studies and Cinema

Chair, Department of American Studies

(319) 335-0315

lauren-rabinovitz@uiowa.edu

714 Jefferson Buildling

American cinema; amusement parks and world's fairs; foodways

Laura Rigal

Associate Professor of American Studies and English

(319) 335-1609

laura-rigal@uiowa.edu

711 Jefferson Building

American literature and culture, 1750-1900

Jennifer Sterling

Lecturer

319-384-3490

jennifer-sterling@uiowa.edu

709 Jefferson Building

Travis Vogan

Associate Professor of American Studies

(319) 335-1370

travis-vogan@uiowa.edu

E342 Adler Journalism Building

Sports media, media industries and institutions

Stephen Warren

Associate Professor of American Studies and History

Director of Undergraduate Studies in American Studies

(319) 335-2064

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

161 Schaeffer Hall

American Indian histories, Midwestern history, ethno-historical methods

Deborah Whaley

Professor of American Studies

(319) 335-3494

deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu

724 Jefferson Building

American and Transnational American Studies, Digital Humanities and New Media Technologies, Cultural History, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Black Cultural Studies, Popular Culture, the Visual Arts, and Critical Theory

Nick Yablon

Associate Professor of American Studies

Director of Graduate Studies

(319) 335-0321

nick-yablon@uiowa.edu

716 Jefferson Building

Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory