Faculty

Listing of Faculty in the department
Name Phone E-mail Office

Susan Birrell

Professor of American Studies & Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies

(319) 335-9337

susan-birrell@uiowa.edu

722 Jefferson Building

Critical cultural analyses of sport and leisure

Naomi Greyser

Associate Professor

319-335-3372

naomi-greyser@uiowa.edu

422 Jefferson Building

American literature and rhetoric; affect and the body; critical race and gender studies; knowledge cultures and university studies; critical theory

Steven Horowitz

Adjunct Assistant Professor

steven-horowitz@uiowa.edu


American popular music and subcultures

Kim Marra

Professor of American Studies and Theatre Arts

(319) 353-2402

kim-marra@uiowa.edu

134 Theatre Building

Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century U.S. theatre and performance; feminist, queer, and animal studies

Thomas Oates

Associate Professor of American Studies

(319) 335-0316

thomas-oates@uiowa.edu

728 Jefferson Building

Sport media, critical/cultural studies

Catriona (Tina) Parratt

Associate Professor of American Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Sport Studies

(319) 335-9339

catriona-parratt@uiowa.edu

720 Jefferson Building

History of sport and leisure; diversity and sport; sport historiography

Russell Peterson

Adjunct Assistant Professor

russell-peterson@uiowa.edu


American politics, political humor

Lauren Rabinovitz

Professor of American Studies and Cinema

(319) 335-0315

lauren-rabinovitz@uiowa.edu

714 Jefferson Buildling

American cinema; amusement parks and world's fairs; foodways

Laura Rigal

Associate Professor of American Studies and English

Director of Graduate Studies

(319) 335-1609

laura-rigal@uiowa.edu

711 Jefferson Building

American literature and culture, 1750-1900

Jennifer Sterling

Lecturer

319-384-3490

jennifer-sterling@uiowa.edu

716 Jefferson Building

Mathew Swiatlowski

Visiting Assistant Professor

mathew-swiatlowski@uiowa.edu

709 Jefferson Building

Sound studies; cultural studies; U.S. popular and vernacular musics; immigration and migration; ethnic studies; critical race theory; class and culture

Travis Vogan

Associate Professor of American Studies

Director of Undergraduate Studies

(319) 335-1370

travis-vogan@uiowa.edu

E342 Adler Journalism Building

Sports media, media industries and institutions

Stephen Warren

Associate Professor of American Studies and History

Chair, Department of American Studies

(319) 335-2064

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

718 Jefferson Building

American Indian histories, Midwestern history, ethno-historical methods

Deborah Whaley

Professor of American Studies

(319) 335-3494

deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu

724 Jefferson Building

American and Transnational American Studies, Digital Humanities and New Media Technologies, Cultural History, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Black Cultural Studies, Popular Culture, the Visual Arts, and Critical Theory