People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

  • Professor Bluford Adams

    Bluford Adams

    Associate Professor of English & American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-0461
    E-mail: bluford-adams@uiowa.edu
    Office: 308 English-Philosophy Building

    Racial and ethnic studies and regionalism

  • Susan Birrell

    Susan Birrell

    Professor of American Studies & Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-9337
    E-mail: susan-birrell@uiowa.edu
    Office: 722 Jefferson Building

    Critical cultural analyses of sport and leisure

  • Steven Horowitz

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    E-mail: steven-horowitz@uiowa.edu

    American popular music and subcultures

  • Kim Marra

    Kim Marra

    Professor of American Studies and Theatre Arts


    Phone: (319) 353-2402
    E-mail: kim-marra@uiowa.edu
    Office: Room 200, 108 River Street

    Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century U.S. theatre and performance; feminist, queer, and animal studies

  • Thomas Oates

    Thomas Oates

    Associate Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-0316
    E-mail: thomas-oates@uiowa.edu
    Office: 728 Jefferson Building

    Sport media, critical/cultural studies

  • Catriona Parratt

    Catriona (Tina) Parratt

    Associate Professor of American Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Sport Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-9339
    E-mail: catriona-parratt@uiowa.edu
    Office: 720 Jefferson Building

    History of sport and leisure; diversity and sport; sport historiography

  • Russell Peterson

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    E-mail: russell-peterson@uiowa.edu

    American politics, political humor

  • Horace Porter

    F. Wendell Miller Professor of English and American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-2216
    E-mail: horace-porter@uiowa.edu
    Office: 718 Jefferson Building

    Twentieth-century American and African American fiction; memoirs, autobiography

  • Lauren Rabinovitz

    Lauren Rabinovitz

    Professor of American Studies and Cinema

    Chair, Department of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-0315
    E-mail: lauren-rabinovitz@uiowa.edu
    Office: 714 Jefferson Buildling

    American cinema; amusement parks and world's fairs; foodways

  • Laura Rigal

    Associate Professor of American Studies and English


    Phone: (319) 335-1609
    E-mail: laura-rigal@uiowa.edu
    Office: 711 Jefferson Building

    American literature and culture, 1750-1900

  • Jennifer Sterling

    Lecturer


    Phone: 319-384-3490
    E-mail: jennifer-sterling@uiowa.edu
    Office: 709 Jefferson Building
  • Travis Vogan

    Travis Vogan

    Associate Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-1370
    E-mail: travis-vogan@uiowa.edu
    Office: E342 Adler Journalism Building

    Sports media, media industries and institutions

  • Stephen Warren

    Associate Professor of American Studies and History

    Director of Undergraduate Studies in American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-2064
    E-mail: stephen-warren@uiowa.edu
    Office: 161 Schaeffer Hall

    American Indian histories, Midwestern history, ethno-historical methods

  • Deborah Whaley

    Deborah Whaley

    Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-3494
    E-mail: deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu
    Office: 724 Jefferson Building

    American and Transnational American Studies, Digital Humanities and New Media Technologies, Cultural History, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Black Cultural Studies, Popular Culture, the Visual Arts, and Critical Theory

  • Nick Yablon

    Nick Yablon

    Associate Professor of American Studies

    Director of Graduate Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-0321
    E-mail: nick-yablon@uiowa.edu
    Office: 716 Jefferson Building

    Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory

Emeritus Faculty

  • Rich Horwitz

    Professor Emeritus

  • John Raeburn

    Professor Emeritus of American Studies and English

    E-mail: john-raeburn@uiowa.edu

    American twentieth-century cultural history; American photography; American film; the 1930s; American literature after 1865; history of the book

Staff

Graduate Students