CLAS Staff Council Elections

2022-2023 Elections

The CLAS Staff Council shall have eleven members elected from and by the CLAS staff from the Voting Groups.  Two members shall represent Voting Group I, two members shall represent Voting Group II, one member shall represent Voting Group III, two members shall represent Voting Group IV, and two members shall represent Voting Group V. Two remaining members will be elected by the staff At Large from any Voting Group, but there may be no more than three members from any one Voting Group.

This year there are six member seats to fill. Two members must be elected from Voting Group I and one member must be elected from Voting Groups II, III, IV, and V.   

Term ends 2024: Rebecca Tritten (group 2), Ali Sulaiman (group 5)

Term ends 2023:  Amanda Jensen (At Large), Jen Knights (At Large), Sandy Mast (group 4), Mark Fullenkamp (group 1)

Term ends 2022: Kathy Ford (group 2), Emma Kirk (group 1), Julie Ostrem (group 3), Jeremy Richardson (group 4), Greta Sokoloff (group 5)



Nomination and Election Processes

In early February, 2022, CLAS staff may nominate candidates to serve on the CLAS Staff Council.  Nominees who agree to become candidates will appear on the election ballots later in March (see election timeline below).


CLAS staff are assigned to one of five electoral groups based upon job function, as shown in the Nomination and Voting List, in which each unit and its staff is listed with the Voting Group in which it belongs:  

  • Voting Group I: Academic Support, Libraries, Information Technology
  • Voting Group II: Administration
  • Voting Group III: Arts Culture & Entertainment, Marketing Communication & Outreach
  • Voting Group IV: Business & Finance, Engineering & Architecture, Facilities, Human Resources
  • Voting Group V: Research, Health Care

To find out which voting group you belong to please check your My Self-Service > University Information > Staff Council Category.




Nomination ballots open, 8 a.m.


Nomination ballots close, midnight


Election ballots and candidate statements published on the website


Election voting opens, 8 a.m.


Election voting closes, midnight


Election results posted on the webpage