People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Department of Sociology Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Mark Berg

Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Missouri - St. Louis

319-335-2495

mark-berg@uiowa.edu

W126 Seashore Hall (Sociology) & 202 South Quad (Public Policy Center)

Alison Bianchi

Associate Professor; Director of the Center for the Study of Group Processes

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2512

alison-bianchi@uiowa.edu

W28D Seashore Hall

Jennifer Glanville

Professor; Department Chair

Ph.D. University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

319-335-2498

jennifer-glanville@uiowa.edu

W125 Seashore Hall

Sarah Harkness

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2485

sarah-harkness@uiowa.edu

W114 Seashore Hall

Jennifer Haylett

Lecturer

Ph.D. University of California - Davis

319-335-2902

jennifer-haylett@uiowa.edu

W424 Seashore Hall

Karen Heimer

Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2488

karen-heimer@uiowa.edu

W145 Seashore Hall

Steve Hitlin

Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2499

steven-hitlin@uiowa.edu

W110 Seashore Hall

Michael Lovaglia

Professor

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2494

michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu

W137 Seashore Hall

Freda Lynn

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Harvard University

319-335-3745

freda-lynn@uiowa.edu

W143 Seashore Hall

Mary Noonan

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D. University of Michigan

319-335-2490

mary-noonan-1@uiowa.edu

W121 Seashore Hall

Jessica Welburn Paige

Assistant Professor; Sociology & African American Studies

Ph.D. Harvard University

319-335-2511

jessica-welburn@uiowa.edu

W118 Seashore Hall

Victor Ray

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

319-467-1703

victor-ray@uiowa.edu

W129 SSH

Michaela Ruppert

Lecturer

Ph.D. University of Iowa

319-335-2505

michaela-mcgivern@uiowa.edu

W419 Seashore Hall

Michael Sauder

Professor; Editor of Contemporary Sociology

Ph.D. Northwestern University

319-335-0366

michael-sauder@uiowa.edu

W512 Seashore Hall

Louise Seamster

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

319-467-1704

louise-seamster@uiowa.edu

W130 SSH

Yongren Shi

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Cornell University

319-467-0645

yongren-shi@uiowa.edu

W134 SSH

Ion "Bodi" Vasi

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Cornell University

319-335-2484

ion-vasi@uiowa.edu

W120 Seashore Hall

Erik Westlund

Lecturer

Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University

319-467-1240

erik-westlund@uiowa.edu

W515 Seashore Hall

James Wo

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

319-467-0056

james-wo@uiowa.edu

W133 Seashore Hall

Marina Zaloznaya

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Northwestern University

319-335-3793

marina-zaloznaya@uiowa.edu

W124 Seashore Hall

Affiliated Faculty

Department of Sociology Affiliated Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Katharine (Katie) Broton

Assistant Professor

319-335-6413

katharine-broton@uiowa.edu

Brian An

Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-6390

brian-an@uiowa.edu

N493 Lindquist Center

David Bills

Professor; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Graduate Programs

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-5366

david-bills@uiowa.edu

N446 Lindquist Center

Emeritus Faculty

Department of Sociology Emeritus Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Celesta Albonetti

Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2486

celesta-albonetti@uiowa.edu

W129 Seashore Hall

Jae-On Kim

Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of California - Berkeley

319-335-2484

jae-on-kim@uiowa.edu

W519 Seashore Hall

Stephen Wieting

Associate Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of Minnesota

319-353-2364

stephen-wieting@uiowa.edu

W139 Seashore Hall

Staff

Department of Sociology Staff
Name Phone Email Office

Andy Tinkham

Academic Advisor

(319) 335-0013

andrew-tinkham@uiowa.edu

W516 SSH

Allison Hancock

Admin Services Coodinator

319-467-0725

allison-hancock@uiowa.edu

W140 Seashore Hall

Joseph Davis

Academic Advisor

319-335-2487

joseph-davis-1@uiowa.edu

W149 Seashore Hall

Diane Fountain

HR Manager

319-335-5070

diane-fountain@uiowa.edu

214 Van Allen

Ahmed Hassanein

IT Support Analyst

319-335-2887

ahmed-hassanein@uiowa.edu

W425 Seashore Hall

Ryan Kirkey

Accountant

319-335-2611

ryan-kirkey@uiowa.edu

W310 Seashore Hall

Liz Skogerboe

Department Administrator

319-335-3254

elizabeth-skogerboe@uiowa.edu

W140 Seashore Hall

Adjunct Faculty

Department of Sociology Adjunct Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Scott Beckner

319-335-5026

scott-beckner@uiowa.edu

808 University Capitol Centre

John Zielke

Adjunct Assistant Professor

john-zielke@uiowa.edu>

W512A