People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

Department of Sociology Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Mark Berg

Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Missouri - St. Louis

319-335-2495

mark-berg@uiowa.edu

400H North Hall (Sociology) & 202 South Quad (Public Policy Center)

Alison Bianchi

Associate Professor; Director of the Center for the Study of Group Processes

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2512

alison-bianchi@uiowa.edu

416B North Hall

Stephanie DiPietro

Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Maryland, College Park, MD

319-467-4520

stephanie-dipietro@uiowa.edu

400B North Hall

Jennifer Glanville

Professor; Department Chair

Ph.D. University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

319-335-2498

jennifer-glanville@uiowa.edu

416D North Hall

Sarah Harkness

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2485

sarah-harkness@uiowa.edu

400M North Hall

Jennifer Haylett

Lecturer

Ph.D. University of California - Davis

319-335-2902

jennifer-haylett@uiowa.edu

400A North Hall

Karen Heimer

Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2488

karen-heimer@uiowa.edu

400V North Hall

Steve Hitlin

Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2499

steven-hitlin@uiowa.edu

400C North Hall

Michael Lovaglia

Professor

Ph.D. Stanford University

319-335-2494

michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu

400W North Hall

Freda Lynn

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Ph.D. Harvard University

319-335-3745

freda-lynn@uiowa.edu

400P North Hall

Mary Noonan

Associate Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D. University of Michigan

319-335-2490

mary-noonan-1@uiowa.edu

400U North Hall

Jessica Welburn Paige

Assistant Professor; Sociology & African American Studies

Ph.D. Harvard University

319-335-2511

jessica-welburn@uiowa.edu

400D North Hall

Victor Ray

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

319-467-1703

victor-ray@uiowa.edu

400N North Hall

Meghan Rogers

Assistant Professor

319-467-4513

meghan-rogers@uiowa.edu

400G North Hall

Michaela Ruppert

Associate Professor of Instruction

Ph.D. University of Iowa

319-335-2505

michaela-mcgivern@uiowa.edu

400F North Hall

Michael Sauder

Professor

Ph.D. Northwestern University

319-335-0366

michael-sauder@uiowa.edu

416C North Hall

Louise Seamster

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

319-467-1704

louise-seamster@uiowa.edu

400L North Hall

Yongren Shi

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. Cornell University

319-467-0645

yongren-shi@uiowa.edu

400R North Hall

Ion "Bodi" Vasi

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Cornell University

319-335-2484

ion-vasi@uiowa.edu

400S North Hall

Erik Westlund

Lecturer

Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University

319-467-1240

erik-westlund@uiowa.edu

416A North Hall

James Wo

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. University of California, Irvine

319-467-0056

james-wo@uiowa.edu

400T North Hall

Marina Zaloznaya

Associate Professor

Ph.D. Northwestern University

319-335-3793

marina-zaloznaya@uiowa.edu

400K North Hall

Affiliated Faculty

Department of Sociology Affiliated Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Katharine (Katie) Broton

Assistant Professor

319-335-6413

katharine-broton@uiowa.edu

Brian An

Associate Professor

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-6390

brian-an@uiowa.edu

N493 Lindquist Center

David Bills

Professor; Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Graduate Programs

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-5366

david-bills@uiowa.edu

N446 Lindquist Center

Emeritus Faculty

Department of Sociology Emeritus Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Celesta Albonetti

Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison

319-335-2486

celesta-albonetti@uiowa.edu

Off-Campus

Jae-On Kim

Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of California - Berkeley

319-335-2484

jae-on-kim@uiowa.edu

400J North Hall

Stephen Wieting

Associate Professor Emeritus

Ph.D. University of Minnesota

319-353-2364

stephen-wieting@uiowa.edu

Staff

Department of Sociology Staff
Name Phone Email Office

Andy Tinkham

Academic Advisor

(319) 335-0013

andrew-tinkham@uiowa.edu

Allison Hancock

Admin Services Coordinator

319-467-0725

allison-hancock@uiowa.edu

401 North Hall

Joseph Davis

Academic Advisor

319-335-2487

joseph-davis-1@uiowa.edu

401C North Hall

Alaina Hanson

HR Manager

(319) 335-3015

alaina-hanson@uiowa.edu

210 Schaeffer Hall

Ryan Kirkey

Accountant

319-335-2611

ryan-kirkey@uiowa.edu

PBSB

Liz Skogerboe

Department Administrator

319-335-3254

elizabeth-skogerboe@uiowa.edu

401B North Hall

Terry Tharp

IT Support Consultant

319-467-1173

terry-tharp@uiowa.edu

209 MH

Adjunct Faculty

Department of Sociology Adjunct Faculty
Name Phone Email Office

Malinda Lamb

Adjunct Assistant Professor

malinda.lamb@gmail.com

Off-Campus

John Zielke

Adjunct Assistant Professor

john-zielke@uiowa.edu