Welcome Letter from the Chair

Dear Friends of Sociology at the University of Iowa,

I’m happy to be sharing the latest news from our department!

This year we have welcomed several new members. You can read about the work of Yongren Shi, our newest faculty member, in this issue of the newsletter. D’Andre Walker also joined us this year as a Visiting Assistant Professor, and we congratulate him on his upcoming position as an Assistant Professor at the University of Mississippi. Our main office is now in the very capable hands of Liz Skogerboe, who became our Department Administrator this year, and Allison Hancock, who joined us as our Administrative Services Coordinator. Andy Tinkham has joined Joe Davis in advising our growing number of undergraduate majors.

Professor Glanville

I am continually inspired by the dedication of our faculty members to student success and innovation in teaching. Reflecting this dedication, Associate Professor Alison Bianchi is the recipient of a Collegiate Teaching Award from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Our faculty have also been recognized for their research and service activities. Professor Karen Heimer was the University Distinguished Lecturer and received a Finkbine Medallion. Professors Steven Hitlin and Sarah Harkness were the recipients of the Outstanding Book Award from the Altruism, Morality and Social Solidarity section of the ASA for their recent book, Unequal Foundations: Inequality, Morality and Emotions across Cultures. Assistant Professor Jessica Welburn Paige was a Sheila Biddle Ford Foundation Fellow at Harvard’s Hutchins Center for African and African American Research. We invite you to visit our webpage and check out the news section, as well as the faculty profiles, to read about some of our other latest scholarly work (https://clas.uiowa.edu/sociology/). 

This year we had a record number of undergraduate students (eight!) present their research at the Iowa Sociological Association Meeting. Emma Fenstermaker (who you can read more about in the Undergraduate Student Spotlight) and Alessandra Sabra are the 2019 co-winners of the Outstanding Senior Sociology/Criminology Award.

Our graduate program continues to thrive. Hannah Espy received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award from the Council on Teaching. Kat Rittenhour and Ji Hye Kim received outstanding paper awards at the Jakobsen Conference. In this issue you can read about the innovative research projects of two of our current students, Liz Felix and Olga Novoselova. Please see our webpage for more information about recent graduate student and alumni accomplishments.

This year we were delighted to welcome Professor Edward Lawler back as this year’s speaker for the Robert and Clarissa Rees Lecture Series. This annual presentation by an undergraduate or graduate student alumnus is funded through the generous support of alumna, Marian Rees.

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your generous donations to the Department of Sociology. These gifts allow us to enhance our teaching and research missions in valuable ways, including sponsoring the activities of our Sociology and Criminology undergraduate honor societies and helping us bring visiting scholars to campus to share their work and meet with our students. We greatly appreciate all continued and new support!

Please feel free to drop us a line. We are always happy to hear from you.

Warmest regards,

Jennifer Glanville, Professor and Chair

Other articles in this Newsletter