Faculty Research Mentors

We have a supportive environment with substantial opportunities for mentoring and interaction with faculty members. Throughout your PhD studies at The University of Iowa, we will help you develop a program of study based on your unique educational and career goals. You will have several opportunities to work closely with faculty members and receive mentoring. For example, in your first year, you will complete a mentored research practicum with a faculty member and a mentored in-class teaching experience. During your second year, you will choose a faculty member to guide you through the comprehensive examination and dissertation process. Our faculty research mentors are listed below:

Faculty Mentors

List of Department of Social Work Faculty Mentors
Name Phone E-mail Office

Mercedes Bern-Klug

Professor; Director, Aging & Longevity Studies Program; Hartford Faculty Scholar

319-335-1265

mercedes-bern-klug@uiowa.edu

308 NH

Amy Butler

Associate Professor, BA Program Director

319-335-1277

amy-c-butler@uiowa.edu

333 NH

Carol Coohey

Professor, MSW Program Director

319-335-1272

carol-coohey@uiowa.edu

321A-1 NH

Lorraine Dorfman

Professor Emerita

319-335-1269

lorraine-dorfman@uiowa.edu

358 NH

Megan Gilster

Assistant Professor

319-335-1264

megan-gilster@uiowa.edu

352 NH

May Guo

Associate Professor, PhD Program Director

319-335-0513

man-guo@uiowa.edu

203 NH

Carolyn Hartley

Associate Professor

319-335-1267

carolyn-hartley@uiowa.edu

359 NH

Miriam Landsman

Associate Professor; Executive Director, National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice

319-335-1257

miriam-landsman@uiowa.edu

351 NH

Sara Sanders

Professor; Hartford Faculty Scholar; Director, School of Social Work

319-335-2079

sara-sanders@uiowa.edu

325 NH

Ed Saunders

Associate Professor Emeritus

319-335-3316

edward-saunders@uiowa.edu

330 NH

Jeanne Saunders

Associate Professor Emerita

319-335-1276

jeanne-saunders@uiowa.edu

203 NH