The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes October 17, 2018

Present: Lori Adams, Alicia Ambler, Anthony Arnone, Eloy Barragán, Alison Bianchi, Art Borreca, Andrew Casto, Octav Chipara, Stephen Cummings, Anny Curtius, Emilie Destruel-Johnson, Steve Duck, Aniruddha Dutta, Tori Forbes, Anahita Ghazvinizadeh, Joyee Ghosh, Shawn Goodman, Blaine Greteman, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Palle Jorgensen, Ana Llopart, Peter Lundgren, Kate Magsamen-Conrad, Anna Malkova, Claudio Margulis, Elizabeth Menninga, Tom Arne Midtrød, Luis Muñoz, Jane Nachtman, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Catriona Parratt, Isaac Petersen, Silvia Secchi, Glenn Storey, Kendra Strand, Carrie Swanson, Maggy Tomova, Travis Vogan, Michelle Voss, Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Stephen Warren, Frank Weirich, David Weiss, Katie Wolfe, Xiaoyi Zhang

Absent (Excused): Chris Brochu, Margaret Carrel, Drew Kitchen, Rachel McLaren, David Puderbaugh, Marc Wold

Absent: Sabine Gölz, Will Jennings, Richard Turner, Susan White

Guests: David Bennett, Jennifer Bertrand, Dan Davis, Adam Jaschen, Linda Kerber, Jason Livingston, Bruce McAvoy, Patrick Moran, Zoe Polach, Mary Ann Rasmussen, Jennifer Sherer, Michael Zmolek

- 1. The minutes from September 19, 2018, were approved.
- 2. Linda Kerber, Professor Emeritus, Department of History, and Bruce McAvoy, Fire Safety Coordinator and Interim Emergency Management Coordinator, Department of Public Safety, discussed the Richard E. Kerber Memorial HEARTSafe Initiative and encouraged faculty to complete Heartsaver CPR AED training, available on campus.
- 3. David Bennet, Professor and Chair, Department of Geographical and Sustainability Sciences, presented a proposal for a Bachelor of Science in Sustainability Science, previously approved by CLAS Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee. The major will teach students to think across disciplinary bounds, analyze complex problems, and communicate issues effectively to work towards a sustainable future. The curriculum will include 67-69 semester hours including core, analytical, communication, research/internship, ethics, and elective courses. The proposal was approved.
- 4. Jennifer Sherer, Director, The University of Iowa Labor Center, reviewed the Center's history, accomplishments, and outreach work over the past 67 years. In response to a question from the floor, she requested that faculty discuss any concerns regarding the planned closure of the Labor Center with the CLAS interim Dean.

- 5. Mary Ann Rasmussen, Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies, and Department of English, reviewed several concerns of non-tenure-track faculty who are part of Iowa Faculty Forward, including job security, work load, and new collegiate policies related to adjunct and visiting faculty. Michael Zmolek, Lecturer, Department of History, and Jason Livingston, Lecturer, Department of Cinematic Arts, stated concerns about hiring, retention, and grievance processes for non-tenure-track faculty.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Tori Forbes, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry Secretary of the Faculty Assembly