The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes November 15, 2017

Present: Scott Baalrud, Mercedes Bern-Klug, Christopher Brochu, Elana Buch, Margaret Carrel, Rodica Curtu, Emilie Destruel-Johnson, Steve Duck, Brian Ekdale, Joyee Ghosh, Christopher Goetz, Amanda Haes, Michael Hill, Lenore Holte, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Laurent Jay, Alan Kay, Caglar Koylu, Rachel McLaren, Elizabeth Menninga, Tom Arne Midtrød, Yasemin Mohammad, Catriona Parratt, Isaac Petersen, Nathan Platte, Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Ariana Ruiz, Michael Sakamoto, Lisa Schlesinger, Glenn Storey, Carrie Swanson, Richard Turner, Ion Bogdan Vasi, Michelle Voss, Stephen Warren, Marc Wold, Katherine Wolfe

Absent (Excused): Octav Chipara, Anny Curtius, Aniruddha Dutta, Philip Kaaret, Kathryn Lavezzo, Ana Llopart, David Puderbaugh, Yasmine Ramadan, Kendra Strand, Stephen Voyce, Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Frank Weirich, Susan White

Absent: Andrew Casto, Tori Forbes, Palle Jorgensen, Jiyeon Kang, Richard Roller

Guests: Jennifer Bertrand, Bernd Fritzsch, Adam Jaschen, Kevin Kregel, Monica Madura, Tom Rice, Sara Sanders, Tristan Schmidt, Lisa Segre, H.S. Udaykumar, Jenny Verniero, Rachel Williams

- 1. The minutes from October 18, 2017, were approved.
- 2. Members of the steering committee for Phase II of the University of Iowa's 2020 Academic Organizational Structure initiative introduced themselves to Faculty Assembly. Professor Tom Rice, Committee Chair, Director UI Des Moines Programs, provided an overview of the committee's charge and activities thus far. The Phase II committee is to consult widely and deeply within the university community, and to think about university structure and broader resources to envision what the University of Iowa will look like in 20 to 25 years. The committee is listening to many constituent groups and soliciting ideas, reviewing work at other institutions, and holding discussions with thought leaders in higher education. The committee's efforts will be distilled into several "big ideas" to propel the university forward; these ideas will be reviewed with stakeholder groups before submission to the President and Provost for implementation. The committee responded to questions and comments from the floor, including concerns regarding the search for a new dean and the structure of CLAS, appropriate thought leaders for consultation, opportunities and challenges presented by increased interdiscplinarity, and how to best serve the state-wide community in a time of decreased resources and increased expectations.
- 3. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Professor Rachel McLaren, Department of Communication Studies Secretary of the Faculty Assembly