The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes Special Meeting March 21, 2018

Present: Scott Baalrud, Mercedes Bern-Klug, Elana Buch, Anny Curtius, Emilie Destruel-Johnson, Brian Ekdale, Robert Gerstmyer, Joyee Ghosh, Christopher Goetz, Amanda Haes, Laurent Jay, Palle Jorgensen, Alan Kay, Kathryn Lavezzo, Ana Llopart, Rachel McLaren, Christopher McMillan, Tom Arne Midtrød, Thomas Oates, Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Ariana Ruiz, Glenn Storey, Carrie Swanson, Michelle Voss, Stephen Voyce, Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Stephen Warren, Frank Weirich, Marc Wold, Katherine Wolfe

Absent (Excused): Christopher Brochu, Andrew Casto, Tori Forbes, Lenore Holte, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Elizabeth Menninga, Ann Marie Nest, Isaac Petersen, Nathan Platte, David Puderbaugh, Yasmine Ramadan

Absent: Margaret Carrel, Octav Chipara, Rodica Curtu, Steve Duck, Aniruddha Dutta, Sabine Gölz, Michael Hill, Philip Kaaret, Jiyeon Kang, Caglar Koylu, Richard Roller, Kendra Strand, Ion Bogdan Vasi, Susan White

Guests: Jennifer Bertrand, Kent Clark, Karen Heimer, Lisa Heineman, Adam Jaschen, Craig Kletzing, Teresa Marshall, Heather Mineart, Guowei Qi, Rene Rocha, David Ryfe, Maggy Tomova, Deborah Whaley, KaLeigh White

- 1. Members of the CLAS Dean's Search Committee introduced themselves, including committee co-chair Professor David Ryfe, Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Professor Ryfe noted the search firm Isaacson, Miller has been hired to assist the committee, and the job description will be finalized on March 30, with campus visits from finalists planned for the fall 2018 semester. The committee has met with several stakeholder groups thus far, and common themes include the desire for a new dean who is a strong advocate for the liberal arts and sciences, an experienced administrator, and decisive leader. The committee welcomed questions and comments from the floor. Discussion included the desire for candidates who can work effectively with the diversity of disciplines that exist within CLAS, who are women or persons of color, and who are effective leaders able to creatively handle challenges related to resource allocation. Committee members urged faculty to reach out to qualified candidates and encourage them to apply for the position.
- 2. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Professor Rachel McLaren, Department of Communication Studies Secretary of the Faculty Assembly