The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes Emergency Meeting held on July 17, 2020

Present: Lori Adams, Alicia Ambler, Eloy Barragán, Art Borreca, Amber Brian, Abigail Castle, Becca Clark, Monica Correia, Stephen Cummings, Kajsa Dalrymple, Patrick Dolan, Steve Duck, Mohammad Farajzadeh-Tehrani, Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, Lucia Gemmani, Anahita Ghazvinizadeh, Joyee Ghosh, Sabine Gölz, Blaine Greteman, Benjamin Hassman, Jennifer Haylett, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Miodrag Iovanov, Will Jennings, Megan Knight, Mary Kosloski, Greg Landini, Andrew Lewis, Anna Malkova, Rachel McLaren, Jane Nachtman, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Isaac Petersen, Silvia Secchi, Padmini Srinivasan, Glenn Storey, Kendra Strand, Jenna Supp-Montgomerie, Jeremy Swanston, Denise Szecsei, Joyce Tsai, Travis Vogan, Elizabeth Walker, Frank Weirich, David Weiss, Marc Wold, Xiaoyi Zhang

Absent (Excused): Elizabeth Menninga, Luis Muñoz

Absent: Anthony Arnone, Cynthia Chou, Claudio Margulis, Catriona Parratt, Phillip Round, Christine Rutledge, Stephen Warren

Guests: David Cunning, Scott Daly, Armando Duarte, Bree Neyland, Heather Parrish

After introductory remarks about the Emergency Meeting and its procedures over Zoom, the following motions were discussed and voted upon:

1. The Faculty Assembly thanks The Faculty Council for its work on the June 30th, 2020 resolution and wholeheartedly endorses the principles there laid out.

Aye, 44; Nay, 0; Present not voting, 3

2. Faculty Assembly requests that Dean Goddard immediately publish the criteria by which non-renewals and changes in terms of renewal were made and also, for transparency, information concerning gender and ethnicity of these results.

Aye, 44; Nay, 0

3. Faculty Assembly reaffirms that shared-governance is a vital principle of this University and urges Dean Goddard to make use of it.

Aye, 40; Nay, 0

4. The meeting was adjourned

Respectfully submitted,

Benjamin Hassman, Lecturer, Department of Rhetoric Secretary of the Faculty Assembly