The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes February 24, 2021

Present: Lori Adams, Alicia Ambler, Anthony Arnone, Art Borreca, Amber Brian, Sergii Bezuglyi, Abigail Castle, Cynthia Chou, Becca Clark, Monica Correia, Stephen Cummings, Pat Dolan, Steve Duck, Lucia Gemmani, Joyee Ghosh, Christopher Goetz, Sabine Gölz, Jean Gordon, Blaine Greteman, Benjamin Hassman, Jennifer Haylett, Mio Iovanov, Will Jennings, Megan Knight, Mary Kosloski, Marie Kruger, Anna Malkova, Claudio Margulis, Rachel McLaren, Elizabeth Menninga, Kristine Muñoz, Jane Nachtman, Carly Nichols, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Isaac Petersen, Phillip Round, Christine Rutledge, Kendra Strand, Jenna Supp-Montgomerie, Denise Szecsei, Mohammad F. Tehrani, Joyce Tsai, Eric Vázquez, Travis Vogan, Frank Weirich, David Weiss, Marc Wold, Xiaoyi Zhang

Absent (Excused): Kajsa Dalrymple, Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, Ronald Rozencohn, Glenn Storey

Absent: Aron Aji, Eloy Barragán, Ben Hunnicutt, Gregory Landini, Robert Peck, Padmini Srinivasan, Stephen Warren

Guests: Jennifer Bertrand, Lance Bolton, David Cunning, Zach Furst, Christine Getz, Adam Jaschen, Cornelia Lang, Sara Sanders, Shaun Vecera, Joshua Weiner

- 1. Steve Duck, DEO and Professor, Department of Rhetoric, and Chair of Faculty Assembly, announced that a second informational forum regarding the proposed general education Sustainability requirement will be held on March 5.
- 2. The minutes from January 27, 2021, were approved.
- 3. Lance Bolton, Senior IT Director, CLAS, and Zach Furst, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, IT Security and Policy Office, discussed information technology security issues with Faculty Assembly, including the technology review process for software requests, the evolution of password policies, and computer administration using least-privilege architecture. They also responded to questions from the floor.
- 4. David Cunning, Professor and DEO, Department of Philosophy, and Shaun Vecera, Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Co-chairs of the CLAS Strategic Planning Steering Committee, and Sara Sanders, Interim Dean, presented the final draft of the CLAS Strategic Plan. After discussion the plan was approved for submission to the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost.
- 5. Faculty Assembly members voiced concerns related to the peer teaching evaluation form for instructional track faculty included in the February 17, 2021, DEO mailing. The following motion was made, seconded and adopted: "Faculty Assembly urges the College to withdraw the use of the current Peer Teaching Evaluation Form in favor of a narrative." The Chair will send the statement to the Dean's office.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Benjamin Hassman, Lecturer, Department of Rhetoric Secretary of the Faculty Assembly