The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

DRAFT Minutes February 20, 2019

Present: Anthony Arnone, Eloy Barragán, Alison Bianchi, Art Borreca, Chris Brochu, Margaret Carrel, Stephen Cummings, Aniruddha Dutta, Anahita Ghazvinizadeh, Joyee Ghosh, Blaine Greteman, Benjamin Hunnicutt, Palle Jorgensen, Drew Kitchen, Peter Lundgren, Kate Magsamen-Conrad, Anna Malkova, Claudio Margulis, Rachel McLaren, Elizabeth Menninga, Tom Arne Midtrød, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Isaac Petersen, David Puderbaugh, Silvia Secchi, Glenn Storey, Kendra Strand, Anu Subramanian, Carrie Swanson, Maggy Tomova, Richard Turner, Travis Vogan, Michelle Voss, Stephen Warren, Frank Weirich, David Weiss, Marc Wold, Katie Wolfe, Xiaoyi Zhang

Absent (Excused): Lori Adams, Alicia Ambler, Andrew Casto, Octav Chipara, Anny Curtius, Emilie Destruel Johnson, Steve Duck, Tori Forbes, David Hagan, Ana Llopart, Luis Muñoz, Catriona Parratt, Darrel Wanzer-Serrano,

Absent: Sabine Gölz, Jane Nachtman, Padmini Srinivasan, Susan White

Guests: Jennifer Bertrand, Kenneth Brown, Mark Harris, Adam Jaschen, Steven Ungar, Michael Venzon

- Stephen Warren, Chair of Faculty Assembly, announced that the Faculty Assembly Nominating Committee has been formed and is seeking names of interested faculty members to serve as Vice Chair/Chair Elect (3 year term) and Secretary (1 year term) of Faculty Assembly in 2019-2020. Names may be forwarded to the committee by March 29, and the election will be held during the April 24, 2019, Faculty Assembly meeting. Nominating Committee members are Steven Hitlin, Professor, Department of Sociology; Thomas Oates, Associate Professor, Department of American Studies and School of Journalism and Mass Communication; and David Puderbaugh, Associate Professor, School of Music.
- 2. The minutes from January 23, 2019, were approved.
- 3. Steven Ungar, Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Cinematic Arts; and Anahita Ghazvinizadeh, Assistant Professor, Department of Cinematic Arts, presented a proposal for a Bachelor of Arts in Screenwriting Arts, previously approved by CLAS Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee. The major is unique in the Big Ten, and part of a multi-front initiative that will extend and contribute to the University of Iowa as a destination for writers. After brief discussion, the proposal was approved.
- 4. Mark Harris, Director, Student Disability Services, and Michael Venzon, Assistant Director for Accessibility Services, Student Disability Services, reviewed faculty rights and responsibilities related to academic accommodations approved by Student Disability Services (SDS) and responded to questions and concerns from the floor. Topics of discussion included the need for students to present and discuss the SDS accommodations letter with the instructor prior to receiving approved accommodations,

challenges related to attendance accommodations, the possibility of creating a video related to SDS accommodations that instructors may show during a class period early in the semester, issues that arise when instructors need to modify courses for approved accommodations on short notice, exam security, and concerns related to testing space availability for extended test time accommodations. Some progress has been made on these issues, for example, an IT accessibility committee has been meeting since January, SDS is coordinating with Distance and Online Education (DOE) to create a 46 seat testing space that will be appropriate for students with a reduced distraction accommodation, and with DOE and ITS in building an online portal for exam scheduling requests, as well as providing additional information about approved accommodations in MAUI. They encouraged faculty to contact SDS when any questions or concerns about accademic accommodations arise.

- 5. Kenneth Brown, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Program in Business, Tippie College of Business; Ralph L. Sheets Professor of Management; and Co-Chair, ACE Online Faculty Evaluation Committee, provided a report to Faculty Assembly on the committee's activities over the past year and current progress. The Committee is examining issues related to evaluation of teaching, including making revisions to the ACE (Assessing the Classroom Environment) online evaluation questions, peer-review of instruction, and best use of generated data. He also responded to questions from the floor on several topics including concerns related to racial and gender bias in teaching evaluations, the large number of questions on ACE evaluations in team-taught courses, and the low response rate for electronic evaluations.
- 6. The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Warren, Associate Professor, Departments of History and American Studies Chair of the Faculty Assembly