# The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly Minutes October 18, 2023

**Present:** Ahmed Souaiaia, Aixin Tan, Albert Erives, Alexei Tivanski, Ali Hasan, Andy Owens, Becca Clark, Becky Gonzalez, Ben Hassman, Bijaya Adhikari, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Charles Williams, Chris McMillan, Chris Veeh, David Gooblar, David Hagan, David Weiss, Dorit Kliemann, Drew Kitchen, Elena Gavruseva Elizabeth Kleiman, Elizabeth Walker, Elizabeth Yale, Eric Bush, Frank Weirich, Frederick Solt, Greg Landini, Ionut Chifan, James Wo, Jane Nachtman, Jason Radley, Jennifer Rogers, Jill Beckman, Jorge Montilla Moreno, Joy Hayes, Kendra Strand, Lina-Maria Murillo, Mary Mayo, Melinda Myers, Michael Cowan, Naomi Greyser, Oguz Durumeric, Olga Sokratova, Paula Amad, Rachel Klevar, Ray Fagenbaum, Ron McMullen, Sang-Seok Yoon, Sonja Mayrhofer, Sujatha Sosale, Susan Meerdink, Thomas Oates, William Menefield, and Yasmine Ramadan.

**Absent:** Scott Shaw, Yuan Lu

**Guests:** Ana Rodriguez Rodriguez, Blaine Greteman, Bob Cargill, Brian Ekdale, Brian Lai, Caroline Clay, Chris Cheatum, Christine Getz, Cinda Coggins-Mosher, Cornelia Lang, Craig Gibson, Dan Matheson, David Cunning, David Peate, Doris Witt, Eric Hunter, Erin Irish, Erin Talbert, Gary Pierce, Halsey Reno, Hyaeweol Choi, Jess Gorzelitz, Johna Leddy, Joshua Albrecht, Kara Kehe, Kara Whitaker, Kati Meyer, Katie Linder, Kristina Gordon, Kristy Nabhan-Warren, Lisa Gray, Mark Blumberg, Megan Knight, Melissa Tully, Michael Cowan, Michael Sauder, Morten Schlutter, Raul Curto, Rebecca Tritten, Rebekah Kowal, Rosemary Moore, Roxanna Curto, Sara Sanders, Sarah Fagan, Sarah Suhadolnik, Sergii Bezuglyi, Steve Duck, Tammie Walker, Teresa Mangum, Trevor Harvey, and Vitor Lira.

### 1. Welcome by Faculty Assembly Chair

Yasmine Ramadan, Chair of Faculty Assembly welcomed the assembly membership and all guests attending the afternoon session.

## 2. Minutes from September 20, 2023

Minutes from the April 26, 2023 meeting were approved.

# 3. CLAS Manual of Policy and Procedure (MOPP) Revision Proposal

Yasmine asked for feedback from membership of the Faculty Assembly regarding the CLAS MOPP Revision Proposal. The membership had spent the past week soliciting feedback from their colleagues. Many members provided feedback and posed questions, seeking further clarification on many items in the current revision proposal. Representatives from <a href="CLAS Executive Committee">CLAS Executive Committee</a> and Sara Sanders, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Professor, School of Social Work joined the meeting to listen to feedback regarding the CLAS MOPP draft. Executive Committee EC members took note of feedback and will provide clarification after the meeting for any pending questions that come up during discussion.

### Adjournment of the meeting

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth Kleiman, Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Computer Science Secretary of the Faculty Assembly