The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly

Minutes March 29, 2023

Present: Ahmed Souaiaia, Amber Brian, Andy Owens, Becca Clark, Becky Gonzalez, Ben Hassman, Bengi Baran, Beth Yale, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Charles Williams, Chris Veeh, Christine Rutledge, Cynthia Chou, David Dowling, David Gooblar, David Hagan, David Weiss, Denise Szecsei, Dorit Kliemann, Elizabeth Walker, Eloy Barragan, Emily Finzel, Eric Bush, Eric Vázquez, Frank Weirich, Frederick Slot, Ionut Chifan, Jane Nachtman, Jason Radley, Jennifer Rogers, Jennifer Haylett, Jim Duerlinger, John Manak, Joyee Ghosh, Kylah Hedding, Lori Branch, Marc Wold, Marie Kruger, Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, R. Eric Stone, Rachel Klevar, Ray Fagenbaum, Rosemary Moore, Roxanna Curto, Sang-Seok Yoon, Sergii Bezuglyi, Sonja Mayrhofer, Susan Meerdink, Thalassa Raasch, Xueyu Zhu, Yuan Lu

Absent: Alexei Tivanski, Alicia Ambler, Anne Stapleton, Ed Gilan, Joy Hayes, Lisa Schlesinger, Kendra Strand, Miodrag Iovanov, Peng Jiang, William Menefield

Guests: Ben Hill, Christine Getz, Lisa Gray, Rebecca Tritten, Sara Sanders, Steve Duck

1. Minutes from February 22, 2023

Minutes from the February 22 meeting were approved.

2. Shared Governance Subcommittee Update

Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, Associate Professor of Communication Studies and Ben Hassman, Associate Professor of Instruction and Chair of Faculty Assembly provided an update on the shared governance subcommittee. Natalie further shared a document on the progress of the committee and asked faculty assembly membership for feedback. The group had a discussion about next steps, including the use of this document and today's discussion to develop a best practices guide for the members of Faculty Assembly.

3. Discussion on Service

Ben Hassman asked members of Faculty Assembly to break into small groups discuss their role on Faculty Assembly and their overall approach to service on this committee. In the short debrief following, many members found the small group discussions useful and look forward to future discussions. Notes from the breakout sessions were to be sent to Ben following the meeting.

Adjournment of the meeting

Respectfully submitted,

Emily Finzel, Associate Professor, Earth and Environmental Sciences Secretary of the Faculty Assembly