To: Faculty Assembly Members and all CLAS Faculty From: Yasmine Ramadan, Chair of the Faculty Assembly

RE: Faculty Assembly Agenda: April 24, 2024

Please note that the April agenda calls for two meetings. Regular business will be conducted in the first meeting, with adjournment at its conclusion. The organizational meeting for the 2024-2025 Faculty Assembly will occur next, with the nomination and election of new FA officers.

Faculty Assembly

Wednesday, April 24, 2024 3:30 to 5:00 p.m.; Zoom Meeting

AGENDA

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Minutes from March 27, 2024 and Announcements
- 3. Updates from the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee (UEPCC), *Christine Shea, Associate Professor, Department of Spanish & Portuguese*
- 4. CLAS Instructional Track Faculty Policy
- 5. Business from the floor
- 6. Adjournment of the meeting

2023-2024 Organizational Meeting Agenda

1. Nomination of new FA officers.

Nominations are also welcome from the floor.

Candidates for Chair

Tom Arne Midtrød	Associate Professor	Department of History

Candidates for Vice Chair/Chair Elect

Eric Bush	Associate Professor of Instruction	School of Music
Paul Kalina	Associate Professor	Department of Theatre Arts
Katlyn O'Shaughnessy	Lecturer	Department of Rhetoric

Candidates for Secretary

Cinda Coggins-Mosher	Associate Professor of Instruction	Department of Rhetoric	

- 2. Election of the new FA officers
- 3. Adjournment of the organizational meeting

Faculty Assembly Schedule 2023-2024

Wednesday, 3:30-5:00, via Zoom September 20 October 18 November 15 January 24 February 21 March 27 April 24 Faculty Assembly Schedule 2024-2025

Wednesday, 3:30-5:00, via Zoom September 18 October 16 November 13 January 29 February 19 March 26 April 23

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Assembly Minutes March 27, 2024

DRAFT

Present: Ahmed Souaiaia, Aixin Tan, Albert Erives, Alexandra Hval, Becca Clark, Becky Gonzalez, Ben Hassman, Bengi Baran, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Charles Williams, Chris Veeh, David Gooblar, David Hagan, David Weiss, Deb Trusty, Dorit Kliemann, Elena Gavruseva, Elizabeth Kleiman, Eric Bush, Eric Vázquez, Erica Prussing, Frank Weirich, Frederick Solt, Gregory Landini, Ionut Chifan, James Wo, Jane Nachtman, Jennifer Rogers, Johna Leddy, Jorge Montilla Moreno, Joy Hayes, Kendra Strand, Kylah Hedding, Melissa Febos, Oguz Durumeric, Paul Kalina, Paula Amad, Rachel Klevar, Ray Fagenbaum, Ron McMullen, Sang-Seok Yoon, Scott Shaw, Sujatha Sosale, Susan Meerdink, Yasmine Ramadan.

Absent: Alexei Tivanski, Andy Owens, Bijaya Adhikari, Chris McMillan, Glenn Storey, Inyong Choi, Jason Radley, Lina-Maria Murillo, Sonja Mayrhofer, Yuan Lu, William Menefield.

Guests: Ana Rodriguez Rodriguez, Bryan Phillips, Chris Cheatum, Christine Getz, Dana Thomann, Jill Beckman, Katie Linder, Lisa Gray, Monica Correia, Rebecca Tritten, Roland Racevskis, Roxanna Curto, Steve Duck, Tiffany Schier, Trevor Harvey.

1. Minutes from February 21, 2024 and Announcements

Chair Yasmine Ramadan opened the meeting asking for approval of the minutes from the February 21st meeting. The minutes were approved. Chair Ramadan then shared a couple announcements with the group including an update on the nominating committee and upcoming Faculty Assembly officer elections to take place during the organizational meeting in April. Later in the meeting, Chair Ramadan also shared an update on the Faculty Assembly officers attending a CLAS Executive Committee meeting in March, and then an update.

2. CLAS Instructional Track Faculty Policy Update, Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of German; Trevor Harvey, Associate Professor of Instruction, School of Music

Associate Professor of Instruction Bruce Nottingham-Spencer and Associate Professor of Instruction Trevor Harvey provided an update and presented information on the current committee charge to develop a CLAS Instructional Track Faculty (ITF) Policy update now that the University has revised their policy. A draft of the ITF policy was also shared with Faculty Assembly membership when the agenda was sent out. After the update, Professors' Nottingham-Spencer and Harvey took questions from the faculty assembly membership.

- 3. Updates from the Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee (UEPCC), Christine Shea, Associate Professor, Department of Spanish & Portuguese
 No updates this month.
- 4. Updates from the Graduate Educational Policy Committee (GEPC), Bryan Phillips, *Professor, Department of Biology*

Professor Bryan Phillips provided updates from the Graduate Educational Policy Committee (GEPC).

- **5.** Update from Executive Committee (EC), Monica Correia, *Professor, School of Art and Art History* No updates this month.
- 6. Business from the Floor

Adjournment of the meeting

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth Kleiman, Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Computer Science Secretary of the Faculty Assembly