Welcome Incoming 2022 Graduate Students!

You are here

announcement icon
Thursday, August 25, 2022 - 12:30pm

The Department of Political Science welcomes ten new graduate students to academic year 2022-2023

  • Danielle Beavers recently completed a BS in Political Science, a BA in Economics, and a minor in Spanish from the University of Iowa. Her current research interests include energy policy, political methodology, and public policy. Visit Danielle's profile page.
  • Ahmed Bulbul received an MA in Political Science from Ball State University. He has also earned a Bachelor of Social Sciences (BSS) and Master of Social Sciences (MSS), focusing on international conflict studies, from the University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. His primary research areas are international security and conflict analysis, particularly foreign aid, and conflict analysis at a macro level. Visit Ahmed's profile page.
  • Thomas Dainty recently earned a BA in Political Science from the University of Iowa and was a member of the Iowa Policy and Opinion Lab (IPOL). His interests are civil conflicts and research methodology. Visit Thomas' profile page.
  • Brody DeBettignies is a 2014 graduate of the University of Iowa with BA degrees in Political Science and Religious Studies. Prior to joining the Political Science PhD program, he was studying within the Iowa MPAff (Master's in Public Affairs) program. Brody's research interests focus on the intersection between government trust and public policy creation in the United States. Visit Brody's profile page.
  • Sami DeRagon earned a BA in Political Science and Political Communications from Siena College in Albany, NY, where she worked at the Siena College Research Institute and applied her interest in political polling. Sami's interests also include the politics of gender, gender representation in congress, and child care policy. Visit Sami's profile page.
  • Abbie Eastman graduated from the University of Iowa with a BA in International Relations and Ethics and Public Policy. Her senior thesis was on the power dynamics of physical integrity human rights. Her current research interests are related to the diffusion of political violence across international borders. Visit Abbie's profile page.
  • Adam Lappe received degrees in Political Science and International Studies from the University of Missouri where he was a McNair Scholar and graduated Magna Cum Laude. Adam’s areas of interest are international relations and conflict. Visit Adam's profile page.
  • Taylor Tokos graduated from Creighton University with a BA in Political Science and minors in History and Gender Studies. She completed her undergraduate thesis on the impact of election laws on voter turnout in presidential elections in the United States. Her primary research interests include state and local politics, representation, and voter behavior. Visit Taylor's profile page.
  • Tianhui Wu has a BA in Political Science and Public Administration from Fudan University and an MA in Political Theory from Sun Yat-sen University. Her scholarly interests include comparative politics, rural politics, cyber politics and bureaucratic politics. She has several fieldwork experiences, focusing on rural development and poverty alleviation in China. Visit Tianhui's profile page.
  • Timothy Yen earned a BA in Political Science with a minor in Spanish from Trinity University. His field of research is in American Politics, specifically Congress and policymaking. Visit Timothy's profile page.

2022 incoming grads2022 incoming political science graduate students: (back row L-R) Brody DeBettignies, Taylor Tokos, Adam Lappe, Timothy Yen, Ahmed Bulbul, Thomas Dainty, (front row L-R) Sami DeRagon, Abbie Eastman, Danielle Beavers, Tianhui Wu.