CLAS names Collegiate Scholars, Dean’s Scholars for 2014-2016

Friday, April 11, 2014

Chaden Djalali, dean of the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has named two faculty members to the honor of Collegiate Scholar and two others to the honor of Dean’s Scholar.

The 2014-2016 Collegiate Scholars are Claire Fox, associate professor in the Departments of English and Spanish & Portuguese, and Susan Chrysler White, associate professor in the School of Art & Art History. Collegiate Scholar awards honor tenured faculty preparing for promotion to professor who demonstrate excellence in teaching and scholarly or creative work.

The 2014-2016 Dean’s Scholars are Sarah Kanouse, assistant professor in the School of Art & Art History; and Randall McEntaffer, assistant professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy. Dean’s Scholar awards honor assistant professors preparing for tenure review who demonstrate excellence in teaching and scholarly or creative work.

“I am very happy to recognize these excellent scholars and teachers,” Djalali said. “They serve our students and our state with distinction through their world-class scholarship, artistic production, teaching, and public engagement. I am proud that they are on our faculty, and on behalf of the entire College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, I offer my heartfelt thanks for their service.”

Professor Claire FoxClaire F. Fox is associate professor in the Departments of English and Spanish and Portuguese. Her interests include literary and cultural studies of the Americas, Latina/o American literary and cultural studies, Mexican and U.S.-Mexican border arts and culture, visual culture studies, and cultural policy studies. She is the author of Making Art Panamerican: Cultural Policy and the Cold War (Minnesota 2013) and The Fence and the River: Culture and Politics at the U.S.-Mexico Border (Minnesota 1999). In 2012 she co-organized the Obermann-International Programs Humanities Symposium on the Latino Midwest, and she is currently co-editing a Latino Midwest Reader with Omar Valerio-Jiménez and Santiago Vaquera-Vásquez (forthcoming, Illinois).


Professor Sarah KanouseSarah Kanouse of the School of Art & Art History is an interdisciplinary artist and writer examining the politics of landscape and public space. Her research-based creative projects trace the production of landscape through ecological, historical, and legal forces, with particular interest given to the environmental and cultural effects of military activities. Her feature-length film, Around Crab Orchard, won awards from film festivals. She is one half of the National Toxic Land/Labor Conservation service, an art and research project, and a core member of the art collaborative Compass. She has exhibited widely and written for numerous publications.


Professor Randall McEntafferRandall McEntaffer of the Department of Physics & Astronomy develops high spectral resolving power grating spectrometers for astronomical X-ray observations. His also studies supernova remnants to detail the various interactions such objects have with their environments at each stage of their lives. He has been named a NASA Roman Fellow and received the U.S. Presidential Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. He earned the PhD from the University of Colorado, Boulder and joined the UI faculty in 2008.



Professor Susan Chrysler WhiteSusan Chrysler White of the School of Art & Art History is a recipient of the Joan Mitchell Foundation Award in Painting and Sculpture and a Visual Artist's Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the University’s Faculty Scholar Award, an award for the most creative new project from the Mexican Association for Arts and Popular Culture, and a prestigious Greenwich World Hunger Association Grant for a project helping native Mexican women create sustainable artists’ communities. She has exhibited widely in more than 40 solo exhibitions, and her work has been reviewed in more than 80 prestigious periodicals.


Both awards carry discretionary funds to support the awardee’s teaching and research initiatives. The Collegiate Scholar award is funded by a generous unrestricted gift to the college. Dean’s Scholar awards are made possible through the UI Alumni Association's endowment of the Dean’s Chair in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, established through the University of Iowa Foundation.

A complete list of the college’s 2013-14 faculty honorees is available at

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is the oldest and largest UI college, comprising the humanities; fine, performing and literary arts; natural and mathematical sciences; and social sciences.

The UI acknowledges the UI Foundation as the preferred channel for private contributions that benefit all areas of the university.

For more information, email Nic Arp or call him at 319-335-2818.



The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences offers about 70 majors across the humanities; fine, performing and literary arts; natural and mathematical sciences; social and behavioral sciences; and communication disciplines. About 15,000 undergraduate and nearly 2,000 graduate students study each year in the college’s 37 departments, led by faculty at the forefront of teaching and research in their disciplines. The college teaches all Iowa undergraduates through the college's general education program, CLAS CORE. About 80 percent of all Iowa undergraduates begin their academic journey in CLAS. The college confers about 60 percent of the university's bachelor's degrees each academic year.