People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

List of Department of Linguistics Faculty
Name Phone E-mail Office

Jill Beckman

Associate Professor & DEO, Director of Undergraduate Studies

319-335-0214

jill-beckman@uiowa.edu

469 Phillips Hall

Maureen Burke

Director, ESL Programs

319-335-5630

maureen-burke@uiowa.edu

1112 University Capitol Centre

Rob Chametzky

Adjunct Associate Professor

319-335-5556

robert-chametzky@uiowa.edu

465 Phillips Hall

Emilie Destruel Johnson

Assistant Professor

319-335-2265

e-destruel-johnson@uiowa.edu

514 Phillips Hall

Sarah Fagan

Professor

319-335-2284

sarah-fagan@uiowa.edu

526 Phillips Hall

Elena Gavruseva

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

319-335-1847

elena-gavruseva@uiowa.edu

455 Phillips Hall

Jeffrey Knowling

319-335-0602

jeffrey-knowling@uiowa.edu

1112E UCC

Bob McMurray

Professor

319-335-2408

bob-mcmurray@uiowa.edu

E218 Seashore Hall

Mercedes Nino-Murcia

Professor

319-335-1085

m-nino-murcia@uiowa.edu

463 Phillips Hall

Jerzy Rubach

Professor

319-335-0210

jerzy-rubach@uiowa.edu

453 Phillips Hall

Christine Shea

Associate Professor

319-335-2795

christine-shea@uiowa.edu

412 Phillips Hall

Emeritus Faculty

List of Department of Linguistics Emeritus Faculty
Name E-mail

Paula Kempchinsky

Associate Professor

paula-kempchinsky@uiowa.edu

Catherine O. Ringen

Professor

catherine-ringen@uiowa.edu

Roumyana Slabakova

Professor

roumyana-slabakova@uiowa.edu

Robert S. Wachal

Professor Emeritus

robert-wachal@uiowa.edu

In Memoriam

List of Department of Linguistics In Memoriam Faculty
Name

William D. Davies

Professor

Alice L. Davison

Associate Professor

Staff

Staff in the Department of Linguistics
Name Phone E-mail Office

Kris Bevelacqua

319-335-0178

kristine-bevelacqua@uiowa.edu

170 English Philosophy Building

Nancy McCallister

HR Coordinator

319-384-3253

nancy-mccallister@uiowa.edu

327 English Philosophy Building

Abby Rush

Assistant to the DEO

319-335-0203

abby-rush@uiowa.edu

173 English Philosophy Building

Kristina Swanson

Accountant

319-335-0459

kristina-swanson@uiowa.edu

323B English Philosophy Building