A Tribute Honoring Denis Johnson

A Tribute Honoring Denis Johnson
Friday, September 15, 2017 - 4:00pm
Macbride Auditorium
Macbride Hall

The Iowa Writers' Workshop, the International Writing Program, the Department of Theatre Arts, and the Magid Center will hold a celebration in honor and memory of author and Writers' Workshop alumnus Denis Johnson. Speakers will include Lan Samantha Chang, Tobias Wolff, Christopher Merrill, James Galvin, George de la Pena, and Morgan Johnson.

Denis Johnson is the author of nine novels, as well as numerous plays, poetry collections, a novella, and the critically acclaimed story collection, Jesus’ Son. He was awarded the National Book Award for his novel, Tree of Smoke (2007); the novel was also a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize (2008). His short novel, Train Dreams (2012), was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Johnson’s many other honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim and Lannan Foundations, and a Whiting Award. 

In July, 2017, the Library of Congress announced that he would be posthumously awarded the 2017 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction.  

Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden chose Johnson based on the recommendation of a jury of distinguished authors and prominent literary critics from around the world. Of her selection, Hayden said, “Denis Johnson is a writer for our times. In prose that fuses grace with grit, he spins tale after tale about our walking wounded, the demons that haunt us, the salvation we seek. We emerge from his imagined world with profound empathy, a different perspective—a little changed.”

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the Writers’ Workshop in advance at 319-335-0416.