Faculty

Department of History Faculty. First column is the name, second column is professional title, third column is area, fourth column is email.
Name Title Area Email
Douglas Baynton Professor American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

Mériam Belli Associate Professor History of the modern Middle East, Social and Cultural history of the Arab Middle East, Transnational history of death and dying, Oral history and memory, Boundaries and mobility

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

Shuang Chen Associate Professor History of late imperial and modern China, Social and economic history, Social stratification, Historical demography, Chinese law and society

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

Jeffrey L. Cox Professor British social, imperial, and religious history, The decline of religion in the European heartland of Christianity, Christianity in the non-western world, Secularization Theory

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

Mariola Espinosa Associate Professor Public health and medicine, Empire and Caribbean, Latin America

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Thomas P. Gallanis Professor of Law Legal History of England and Continental Europe, Secondary Appointment in History

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

James L. Giblin Professor African history, 19th-20th century Tanzania and East Africa, Social history of Africa, Political history of post-colonial Tanzania, History of health and healing in Africa

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

Colin Gordon Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies 20th century U.S. history, American public policy, American political economy, American urban history

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Heineman Professor and Chair Modern Germany and Europe, Gender and Sexuality, Historical memory, Human Rights and Atrocity

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Michaela Hoenicke Moore Associate Professor United States in the World, International relations, European and U.S. history, Political culture of the U.S. and its foreign policy

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

Raymond A. Mentzer Professor of Religious Studies Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History, Secondary Appointment in History

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Tom Arne Midtrød Associate Professor Early North America, North American Indians, Atlantic World

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Michael E. Moore Associate Professor Medieval and European history, History of the Church, Papal history, Medieval Canon Law, Theory and Practice of Interpretation (Philology and Hermeneutics), History of Ideas, Late Medieval Intellectual history

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Rosemary Moore Lecturer Ancient history, Roman military, social dynamics between ranks, Roman society, Development of military discipline, Influence of civilian conduct on military authority and behavior

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Matthew Noellert Assistant Professor Modern China, Rural society, History of communism, Historical data analysis, Digital history

matthew-noellert@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Park Assistant Professor Modern Korean History, Empire and nationalism in East Asia, Migration and diaspora, Governance and border issues

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

H. Glenn Penny Professor Modern European history, Critical theory, Migration and diaspora, History of Anthropology, 19th century to present relationships between Europeans and non-Europeans

h-penny@uiowa.edu

R. Tyler Priest Associate Professor of History and Geography 20th century U.S. history, Energy and Environmental history, Energy Policy, History of Business and Technology, Public history

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

Jacki Thompson Rand Associate Professor Native North America

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Leslie A. Schwalm Professor Slavery (U.S. and Comparative), Women's history, 19th century U.S. history, History of Race, Civil War and Reconstruction

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Jennifer Sessions Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies Modern France, European empires, Cultural history, France and its overseas empire, Culture and politics

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Landon Storrs Professor 20th century U.S. social and political history, History of women, Social movements, Social policy

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

Katherine H. Tachau Professor Medieval intellectual history, History of science and philosophy, Medieval Universities, Medieval Latin Paleography and Codicology, History of medieval manuscript art and illumination

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Stephen Vlastos Professor Modern Japanese history, Agrarian political economy during the Tokugawa and Meiji periods, Japanese culture, traditions and modernity, Japan and U.S. Relations, International relations in Asia Pacific region

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu

Stephen Warren Associate Professor American Indian histories and cultures, Ethno-historical methods, Iowa and Midwestern history, Community-Engaged Scholarship

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

Nick Yablon Associate Professor of American Studies Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory, Secondary Appointment in History

nick-yablon@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Yale Lecturer History of Science and Medicine, History of the Book, Early Modern Europe, British History

elizabeth-yale@uiowa.edu

Michael Zmolek Lecturer World history, History and development of Capitalism, Evolution of manufacturing in England (aka [first] Industrial Revolution), International development, Environmental history and politics

michael-zmolek@uiowa.edu