Faculty

Department of History Faculty. First column is the name, second column is professional title, third column is area, fourth column is email.
Name Title Area Email
Douglas Baynton Professor American Cultural History, History of Disability, American Sign Language

douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu

Mériam Belli Associate Professor History of the Modern Middle East

meriam-belli@uiowa.edu

Keisha N. Blain Assistant Professor 20th century U.S. History, African American History, African Diaspora; Women and Gender

keisha-blain@uiowa.edu

Shuang Chen Assistant Professor Chinese History

shuang-chen@uiowa.edu

Jeffrey L. Cox Professor British Social, Imperial, and Religious History

jeffrey-cox@uiowa.edu

Mariola Espinosa Associate Professor Public Health and Medicine, Empire & Caribbean

mariola-espinosa@uiowa.edu

Thomas P. Gallanis Professor of Law Legal History of England and Continental Europe, Secondary Appointment in History

thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

James L. Giblin Professor African History

james-giblin@uiowa.edu

Colin Gordon Professor 20th Century U.S. History

colin-gordon@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Heineman Professor and Chair Modern Germany & Europe Women, Gender, & Sexuality, Human Rights

elizabeth-heineman@uiowa.edu

Michaela Hoenicke Moore Associate Professor United States in the World, International Relations, Modern European & U.S. History

michaela-hoenicke-moore@uiowa.edu

Raymond A. Mentzer Professor of Religious Studies Reformation Studies, Early Modern European Religious History, Secondary Appointment in History

raymond-mentzer@uiowa.edu

Tom Arne Midtrød Associate Professor Early North America

tom-midtrod@uiowa.edu

Michael E. Moore Associate Professor Medieval and European History

michael-e-moore@uiowa.edu

Rosemary Moore Lecturer Ancient History

rosemary-moore@uiowa.edu

Matthew Noellert Assistant Professor Modern Chinese History

matthew-noellert@uiowa.edu

Alyssa Park Assistant Professor Modern Korean History

alyssa-park@uiowa.edu

H. Glenn Penny Professor, Director of Graduate Studies Modern European History, Critical Theory, Migration and Diaspora, History of Anthropology

h-penny@uiowa.edu

R. Tyler Priest Associate Professor of History and Geography Twentieth Century U.S. History, Energy/Environmental History, Global History, History of Business & Technology, Public History

tyler-priest@uiowa.edu

Jacki Thompson Rand Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Native North America

jacki-rand@uiowa.edu

Leslie A. Schwalm Professor Slavery, Civil War, & Reconstruction, Women's, Gender, & African-American History, 19th Century U.S. History

leslie-schwalm@uiowa.edu

Jennifer Sessions Associate Professor Modern France, European Empires, Cultural History

jennifer-sessions@uiowa.edu

Landon Storrs Professor Twentieth-Century U.S. Social and Political History

landon-storrs@uiowa.edu

Katherine H. Tachau Professor Medieval Intellectual History, History of Science, Medieval Universities, Latin Paleography, History of Medieval Manuscript Book

katherine-tachau@uiowa.edu

Stephen Vlastos Professor Modern Japanese History

stephen-vlastos@uiowa.edu

Stephen Warren Associate Professor American Indian histories and cultures, Ethno-historical methods

stephen-warren@uiowa.edu

Nick Yablon Associate Professor of American Studies Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory, Secondary Appointment in History

nick-yablon@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Yale Lecturer Early Modern Europe, Early Modern England

elizabeth-yale@uiowa.edu

Michael Zmolek Lecturer World History

michael-zmolek@uiowa.edu