2023 Student Excellence Awards

May 09, 2023

Thanks to the generosity of donors, the Department of Geographical & Sustainability Sciences has several Student Excellence Funds.  We award them at the end of each academic year to honor top students in our majors of Geography, Environmental Policy & Planning, and Sustainability Science. 

Chad E. Smith Memorial Scholarship
Donor Intent: Support a promising third-year or fourth-year student in Environmental Studies.

  • Natalie Chartier
  • Camryn Grawe

Nicholas L. Paape Memorial Scholarship
Donor Intent: Support one or more students in Geographic Information Science.

  • Angelina Evans
  • Grace Shipley

Harold H. McCarty Memorial Fund
Donor intent: Provide financial aid for promising students in Geography.

  • Emmeline Kraus
  • Greta Mally

Professor Gerry Rushton Academic Excellence Fund
Donor intent: Facilitate student and faculty development and build on the department’s reputation for excellence on campus and in Geography.

  • Jayna Wanamaker
  • Katelyn Winkler

Andrea Hauer and David Perret Student Success Fund
Donor intent:  Support deserving students who demonstrate merit and are in good academic standing. Contributions beyond course grades are particularly valued.

  • Isabella Mullins
  • LilliAnna Scott


Congratulations, students!

a photo of the Old Capitol building with white flowering tree branches obscuring it