People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

  • .

    Pete Akers

    Visiting Assistant Professor


    Phone: 319-335-1137
    E-mail: pete-akers@uiowa.edu
    Office: 322 Jessup Hall
  • Marc Armstrong

    Marc Armstrong

    Professor, Collegiate Fellow and Associate Dean for Research and Infrastructure


    Phone: 319-335-0153
    E-mail: marc-armstrong@uiowa.edu
    Office: 313 Jessup Hall
    Area: GIScience theory and applications; high-performance computing; spatial analysis and cartography
  • Dave Bennett

    Dave Bennett

    Professor and Department Chair


    Phone: 319-335-0158
    E-mail: david-bennett@uiowa.edu
    Office: 306 Jessup Hall
    Area: geographic information science; the processes and effects of environmental decision-making, human/environment interactions
  • Margaret Carrel @ pig farm in China

    Margaret Carrel

    Assistant Professor


    Phone: 319-335-0154
    E-mail: margaret-carrel@uiowa.edu
    Office: 305 Jessup Hall
    Area: geography of infectious disease, landscape genetics & disease ecology
  • profile

    Caglar Koylu

    Assistant Professor


    Phone: 319-335-0161
    E-mail: caglar-koylu@uiowa.edu
    Office: 303 Jessup Hall
    Area: GIScience, spatial data mining and big data analytics, information visualization, human-computer interaction
  • Marc Linderman

    Marc Linderman

    Associate Professor


    Phone: 319-335-1451
    E-mail: marc-linderman@uiowa.edu
    Office: 312 Jessup Hall
    Area: remote sensing, human/environment interactions, land cover change, ecosystem dynamics
  • George Malanson

    George Malanson

    Coleman-Miller Professor


    Phone: 319-335-0150
    E-mail: george-malanson@uiowa.edu
    Office: 316 Jessup Hall
    Area: landscape ecology of mountain geography; spatial simulations of land cover change
  • Claire Pavlik

    Claire Pavlik

    Lecturer


    Phone: 319-335-1195
    E-mail: claire-pavlik@uiowa.edu
    Office: 326 Jessup Hall
    Area: economic geography
  • Tyler Priest

    Associate Professor


    Phone: 319-335-2096
    E-mail: tyler-priest@uiowa.edu
    Office: 280 Schaeffer Hall
    Area: history and geography of energy, energy policy, globalization
  • R. Rajagopal

    R. Rajagopal

    Professor


    Phone: 319-335-0160
    E-mail: r-rajagopal@uiowa.edu
    Office: 308 Jessup Hall
    Area: water quality, optimal monitoring designs in time and space in relation to land use practices
  • Heather Sander

    Assistant Professor


    Phone: 319-353-2964
    E-mail: heather-a-sander@uiowa.edu
    Office: 307 Jessup Hall
    Area: urban ecology, land-use change, ecosystem services
  • James Tamerius

    Assistant Professor


    Phone: 319-335-1927
    E-mail: james-tamerius@uiowa.edu
    Office: 310 Jesup Hall
    Area: Medical Geography, Environmental Health, Applied Climate, Infectious Disease
  • Eric Tate

    Eric Tate

    Assistant Professor and Director of Graduate Studies


    Phone: 319-335-0259
    E-mail: eric-tate@uiowa.edu
    Office: 302 Jessup Hall
    Area: Indicators, disaster vulnerability, water sustainability, uncertainty analysis

Adjunct Faculty

Emeritus Faculty

Staff

Graduate Students