CLAS Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee

The Undergraduate Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee (UEPCC) meets almost weekly during the semester. The Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs and Curriculum, and the Humanities, Helena Dettmer, serves as chair.

Committee duties and composition are discussed in the CLAS Manual of Procedure, Article VI. The committee is composed of nine elected members with three members representing each of the three electoral groups. Terms last for three years, with one third of the committee elected each year. A student member is appointed by the Dean or Associate Dean on the basis of nominations from one or more appropriate student groups and organizations. The student is a full member of the committee.

One member serves as the secretary for the committee each semester and is the liaison to the Faculty Assembly Agenda Committee but is not an attending member of the Assembly. A second member serves on the General Education Curriculum Committee; GECC makes recommendations to UEPCC and to the Associate Dean on General Education issues, including proposals for course GE status and on GE course reviews.

The minutes and the current agenda are available below once approved. For archived minutes, please contact the Chair. Comments or agenda items may be directed to any committee member or to the Associate Dean.

2017-2018 UEPCC

Helena Dettmer, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs and Curriculum and for the Humanities, Chair, UEPCC


Amber Crow (Student Representative, Communication and Journalism major; Ethics and Public Policy major, May 2018*)

Steve Duck (Rhetoric and Communication Studies, May 2018*)

Andrew Forbes (Biology, May 2020*)

Anita Jung (Art & Art History, on leave Spring 2018, May 2020*)

Meena Khandelwal (Anthropology; Gender, Women's, and Sexuality Studies, May 2019*)

Cornelia Lang (Physics & Astronomy, May 2018*)

Jerald Moon (Communication Sciences & Disorders, May 2019*)

Mary Noonan (Sociology, May 2018*)

Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez (Spanish & Portuguese, May 2020*)

Rachel Williams (Gender, Women's, and Sexuality Studies; Art & Art History, May 2019*)

*Date indicates end of three-year term

Statement from UEPCC: Vision of the Future

Recent Agendas

April 26

April 19

April 5

Approved Minutes from Spring 2018

April 19

April 5

March 29

March 22

March 1

February 22

February 15

February 8

February 1

January 25

Approved Minutes from Fall 2017

November 30
November 16
November 9
November 2
October 26
October 19
October 12
October 5
September 28
September 21
September 7
August 31