CLAS Standing (Appointed) Committees — Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Visit the CLAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion website.

The CLAS Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion comprises eleven voting members:  five representatives selected by the CLAS Faculty Assembly, including at least one instructional-track faculty member and one tenure-track faculty member; two representatives selected by the CLAS Staff Council; and four members appointed by the CLAS Dean’s Office, including one faculty member (instructional-track, clinical-track, or tenure-track), one undergraduate student, one graduate student, and an associate director from CLAS Academic Programs and Student Development. Dr. Liz Mendez-Shannon chairs the committee and serves as an ex-officio non-voting member.

The committee meets on a monthly basis during the academic year and, once a year, provides a report to the Dean and the Faculty Assembly about the state of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the College.

We welcome ideas, questions, and feedback from all of our students, faculty, and staff.

Please contact us at One of our committee members will reply.


CLAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee:

Alicia Ambler, Associate Professor of Instruction, English as a Second Language

Andrew Boge, Graduate Student, Department of Communication Studies

Caroline Clay, Theatre Arts

Jose Fernandez, Latina/o/x Studies

Mark Fullenkamp, CLAS Technology Services

Kira Louvar, Undergraduate Student, School of Social Work

Ryan Kinser, Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics

Jen Knights, Marketing and Community Engagement Specialist, School of Social Work

Gabriella McDermott, Dean's Office Operations Specialist

Liz Mendez-Shannon, DEI Director

Emily Mozena, Associate Professor of Instruction, Health and Human Physiology

Jane Nachtman, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Dylan Nice, Lecturer, Rhetoric

Christine Rutledge, Professor, School of Music

Sara Sanders, Dean, CLAS

Scott Shaw, Associate Professor, Chemistry

Denise Szecsei, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science

Eric Vazquez, Assistant Professor, Department of American Studies and Latina/o/x Studies Program

Elizabeth Walker, Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Deborah Whaley, Professor, Departments of American Studies and African American Studies