People

Department Chair

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Maria José Barbosa

Professor
maria-barbosa@uiowa.edu 319-335-2988 451 PH T Th 2:30-4:00

Amber Brian

Associate Professor
amber-brian@uiowa.edu 319-335-2231 457 PH Not Teaching Spring 2018

Horacio Castellanos Moya

Associate Professor
horacio-castellanos@uiowa.edu 319-335-3567 471 PH Not Teaching Spring 2018

Fernando Castro Ortiz

Lecturer
fernando-castroortiz@uiowa.edu 319-467-0188 428 PH M W F 2:30-3:30

Roxanna Curto

Associate Professor, Interim Spanish Core Director
roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 319-335-2274 573 PH M 10:50-12:20, W 12:45-2:15

Ana Esther Fernández

Lecturer
ana-esther-fernandez@uiowa.edu 319-467-0202 477 PH M W F 11:30-12:30

Denise K. Filios

Associate Professor, DEO of the Department of Spanish & Portuguese
denise-filios@uiowa.edu 319-335-3451 418 PH M 1:00-2:30, T 11:00-12:30

Claire Fox

Professor
claire-fox@uiowa.edu 319-335-0454 476 EPB ON LEAVE

Brian Gollnick

Associate Professor
brian-gollnick@uiowa.edu 319-467-0212 683 PH T Th 1:00-2:30

Deanna Johnson

Lecturer
deanna-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-3207 479 PH W F 2:30-4:00

Paula Kempchinsky

Associate Professor
paula-kempchinsky@uiowa.edu 319-335-2237 410 PH M W 11:30-12:30 , T 3:30-4:30

Cristiane Lira

Lecturer
cris-lira@uiowa.edu 319-335-2771 426 PH W F 10:30-11:00, W 3:00-5:00

Pilar Marcé

Lecturer
pilar-marce@uiowa.edu 319-335-3148 473 PH T 9:00-11:00 , W 2:15-3:45

Luis Martín-Estudillo

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
luis-martin-estudillo@uiowa.edu 319-335-2229 416 PH M W F 12:25-1:25

Ana Merino

Professor, Director of MFA Creative Writing
ana-merino@uiowa.edu 319-335-2232 123-F PH M W 1:30 – 3:00

Luis Muñoz

Associate Professor and Honors Advisor
luis-munoz@uiowa.edu 319-335-3452 420 PH T 12:00-3:00

Kristine Muñoz

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
kristine-fitch@uiowa.edu 319-335-0633 408 PH T 3:00-4:30 Th 1:30-3:00

Kathleen E. Newman

Associate Professor
kathleen-newman@uiowa.edu 319-335-1823 (PH) / 319-335-2821 (AJB) 414 PH T 3:30-4:15 W209 AJB, W 2:00-4:14 PH

Mercedes Niño-Murcia

Professor
m-nino-murcia@uiowa.edu 319-335-1085 463 PH By appointment

Julia Oliver Rajan

Lecturer
julia-oliverrajan@uiowa.edu 319-467-0203 477 PH Th 12:00-3:00

Ivan Parra-Garcia

Lecturer
ivan-parra@uiowa.edu 319-467-0200 475 PH M W F 10:30-11:30

Ana M. Rodríguez-Rodríguez

Associate Professor and Study Abroad Advisor
ana-m-rodriguez@uiowa.edu 319-384-1940 422 PH M W F 12:30-1:30

Ariana Ruiz

Assistant Professor
ariana-ruiz@uiowa.edu 319-335-2242 459 PH W 9:30- 12:30

Christine Shea

Associate Professor
christine-shea@uiowa.edu 319-335-2795 412 PH T Th 2:00-3:20

Ruth Westfall

Lecturer
ruth-westfall@uiowa.edu 319-467-0197 428 PH M W 12:30-1:30

Visiting/Adjunct Faculty

Associated Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Braeden Jones

Ph.D. student, Asst. to Spanish Core Director
braeden-jones@uiowa.edu 319-335-2241 303 PH

Rachel Klevar

Visiting Assistant Professor
rachel-klevar@uiowa.edu 319-467-0198 465 PH M 3:20-4:20, W 12:30-2:30

Maricelle Pinto-Tomas

Visiting Assistant Professor
maricelle-pinto-tomas@uiowa.edu 319-467-0201 475 PH M W F 10:25-11:25

Manuel Vilas

Visiting Assistant Professor
manuel-vilas-vidal@uiowa.edu 319-467-0199 465 PH M W F 2:30-3:20

Megan Wood

Adjunct Instructor
megan-m-wood@uiowa.edu 303 PH 9:00-12:00 T

Armando Zavaleta

Lecturer
armando-zavaleta@uiowa.edu 319-335-2750 S250 PBB Not Teaching Spring 2018

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail

George DeMello

Professor Emeritus
george-demello@uiowa.edu

Walter A. Dobrian

Associate Professor Emeritus
walter-dobrian@uiowa.edu

R. Thomas Douglass

Associate Professor Emeritus

Maria A. Duarte

Associate Professor Emeritus
maria-duarte@uiowa.edu

Roslyn M. Frank

Professor Emeritus
roz-frank@uiowa.edu

Oscar Hahn

Professor Emeritus
oscar-hahn@uiowa.edu

Philip W. Klein

Associate Professor Emeritus
phil-klein@uiowa.edu

Tom Lewis

Professor and Collegiate Fellow Emeritus
tom-lewis@uiowa.edu

Judith Liskin-Gasparro

Associate Professor Emeritus
judith-liskin-gasparro@uiowa.edu

Adriana Méndez Rodenas

Professor
adriana-mendez@uiowa.edu

Sue Otto

Adjunct Associate Professor Emeritus
sue-otto@uiowa.edu

Diana Vélez

Associate Professor Emeritus
diana-velez@uiowa.edu

Irene Wherritt

Associate Professor Emertius
irene-wherritt@uiowa.edu