People

Department Chair

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Maria José Barbosa

Professor
maria-barbosa@uiowa.edu 319-335-2988 451 PH M W F 1:30-2:30

Amber Brian

Associate Professor
amber-brian@uiowa.edu 319-335-2231 457 PH M W F 10:00-11:00

Horacio Castellanos Moya

Associate Professor
horacio-castellanos@uiowa.edu 319-335-3567 471 PH Not Teaching Fall 2018

Fernando Castro Ortiz

Lecturer
fernando-castroortiz@uiowa.edu 319-467-0188 473 PH M W F 2:30-3:30

Roxanna Curto

Associate Professor
roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 319-335-2274 573 PH By appointment

Ana Esther Fernández

Lecturer
ana-esther-fernandez@uiowa.edu 319-467-0202 477 PH M W F 12:30-1:30

Denise K. Filios

Associate Professor, DEO of the Department of Spanish & Portuguese
denise-filios@uiowa.edu 319-335-3451 418 PH T 3:00-4:30 Th 12:30-2:00

Claire Fox

Professor
claire-fox@uiowa.edu 319-335-0454 476 EPB ON LEAVE

Brian Gollnick

Associate Professor
brian-gollnick@uiowa.edu 319-467-0212 683 PH T Th 9:00-10:30

Becky Gonzalez

Assistant Professor and Honors Advisor
rebecca-gonzalez-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0097 410 PH M 2:30-3:30, W 2:30-4:30

Deanna Johnson

Lecturer
deanna-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-3207 479 PH W F 2:30-4:00

Cristiane Lira

Lecturer
cris-lira@uiowa.edu 319-335-2771 426 PH T 9:20-10:20, W 2:00-4:00, or by appointment

Pilar Marcé

Lecturer
pilar-marce@uiowa.edu 319-335-3148 479 PH T 9:00-10:20, W 2:15-3:45

Luis Martín-Estudillo

Associate Professor and Study Abroad Advisor
luis-martin-estudillo@uiowa.edu 319-335-2229 416 PH M W F 10:30-11:30

Ana Merino

Professor, Director of MFA Creative Writing
ana-merino@uiowa.edu 319-335-2232 123-F PH Contact via email

Kristine Muñoz

Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
kristine-fitch@uiowa.edu 319-335-0633 408 PH T Th 1:30-3:00

Luis Muñoz

Associate Professor
luis-munoz@uiowa.edu 319-335-3452 420 PH Th 1:00-4:00

Kathleen E. Newman

Associate Professor
kathleen-newman@uiowa.edu 319-335-1823 (PH) / 319-335-2821 (AJB) 414 PH M 3:30-4:30, W 10:00-12:00

Mercedes Niño-Murcia

Professor
m-nino-murcia@uiowa.edu 319-335-1085 463 PH By appointment

Julia Oliver Rajan

Lecturer
julia-oliverrajan@uiowa.edu 319-467-0203 477 PH Th 12:00-3:00

Ivan Parra-Garcia

Lecturer
ivan-parra@uiowa.edu 319-467-0200 475 PH M W F 9:30-10:30

Ana M. Rodríguez-Rodríguez

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
ana-m-rodriguez@uiowa.edu 319-384-1940 422 PH M W F 12:30-1:30

Ariana Ruiz

Assistant Professor
ariana-ruiz@uiowa.edu 319-335-2242 459 PH T 9:30-10:30 & 12:30-1:20, Th 12:20-1:20

Christine Shea

Associate Professor
christine-shea@uiowa.edu 319-335-2795 412 PH T 10:00-1:00

Suzanne Wedeking

Lecturer
suzanne-wedeking@uiowa.edu T Th 2:20-3:50

Ruth Westfall

Lecturer
ruth-westfall@uiowa.edu 319-467-0197 473 PH M W F 1:30-2:30

Giovanni Zimotti

Lecturer
giovanni-zimotti@uiowa.edu 319-467-0137 303 PH By appointment

Visiting/Adjunct Faculty

Associated Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Eduardo Halfon

Visiting Associate Professor
eduardo-halfontenenbaum@uiowa.edu 319-467-0092 424 PH T Th 9:30-11:00

Braeden Jones

Ph.D. student, Asst. to Spanish Core Director
braeden-jones@uiowa.edu 319-335-2241 303 PH By appointment

Rachel Klevar

Visiting Assistant Professor
rachel-klevar@uiowa.edu 319-467-0198 556 PH M W F Virtual Office Hours

Maricelle Pinto-Tomas

Visiting Assistant Professor
maricelle-pinto-tomas@uiowa.edu 319-467-0201 475 PH M 1:00-1:30, W 11:30-1:20, F 3:30-5:00

Cynthia Smart

Visiting Instructor
cynthia-smart@uiowa.edu 556 PH M W F 12:30-1:30

Armando Zavaleta

Lecturer
armando-zavaleta@uiowa.edu 319-335-2750 S250 PBB Th 3:30-5:00, F 2:15-3:30

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name E-mail

George DeMello

Professor Emeritus
george-demello@uiowa.edu

Walter A. Dobrian

Associate Professor Emeritus
walter-dobrian@uiowa.edu

R. Thomas Douglass

Associate Professor Emeritus

Maria A. Duarte

Associate Professor Emeritus
maria-duarte@uiowa.edu

Roslyn M. Frank

Professor Emeritus
roz-frank@uiowa.edu

Oscar Hahn

Professor Emeritus
oscar-hahn@uiowa.edu

Paula Kempchinsky

Associate Professor
paula-kempchinsky@uiowa.edu

Philip W. Klein

Associate Professor Emeritus
phil-klein@uiowa.edu

Tom Lewis

Professor and Collegiate Fellow Emeritus
tom-lewis@uiowa.edu

Judith Liskin-Gasparro

Associate Professor Emeritus
judith-liskin-gasparro@uiowa.edu

Adriana Méndez Rodenas

Professor
adriana-mendez@uiowa.edu

Sue Otto

Adjunct Associate Professor Emeritus
sue-otto@uiowa.edu

Diana Vélez

Associate Professor Emeritus
diana-velez@uiowa.edu

Irene Wherritt

Associate Professor Emertius
irene-wherritt@uiowa.edu