People

Division Director & Administrator

Faculty

Table of Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Portuguese maria-barbosa@uiowa.edu 451 PH 319-335-2988
ASL douglas-baynton@uiowa.edu 322 Schaeffer Hall (319) 335-2300 (V)
Linguistics jill-beckman@uiowa.edu 555 EPB 319-335-0214
Italian cinzia-blum@uiowa.edu 551 PH 319-335-2268
Spanish amber-brian@uiowa.edu 457 PH 319-335-2231
Spanish horacio-castellanos@uiowa.edu 471 PH 319-335-3567
Spanish fernando-castroortiz@uiowa.edu 428 PH 319-335-2822
ASL rebecca-c-clark@uiowa.edu 674 PH (319) 384-1533 (V)
Italian deborah-contrada@uiowa.edu 510 PH 319-335-2257
French anny-curtius@uiowa.edu 555 PH 319-335-2261
French roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 573 PH 319-335-2274
Japanese hiroko-czuprynski@uiowa.edu 666 PH 319-353-2201
Linguistics william-davies@uiowa.edu 553 EPB 319-335-0215
French, Linguistics e-destruel-johnson@uiowa.edu 514 PH 319-335-2265
Hindi aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 401 JB 319-335-0035
German glenn-ehrstine@uiowa.edu 575 PH 319-335-2276
German sarah-fagan@uiowa.edu 526 PH 319-335-2284
Spanish ana-esther-fernandez@uiowa.edu 477 PH 319-335-2256
Spanish denise-filios@uiowa.edu 418 PH 319-335-3451
Spanish claire-fox@uiowa.edu 476 EPB 319-335-0454
DWLLC russell-ganim@uiowa.edu 111-A PH 319-335-2923
Linguistics elena-gavruseva@uiowa.edu 551 EPB 319-335-1847
Arabic denes-gazsi@uiowa.edu 520 PH 319-335-2279
Swahili blandina-giblin@uiowa.edu 569 PH 319-335-2203
Spanish brian-gollnick@uiowa.edu 683 PH 319-384-1530
German sabine-golz@uiowa.edu 659 PH 319-335-2281
Chinese ge-gong@uiowa.edu 668 PH 319-353-2967
French david-hagan@uiowa.edu 522 PH 319-335-2273
German elke-heckner@uiowa.edu 574 PH 319-353-2222
Japanese kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 657 PH 319-335-5104
French geoffrey-hope@uiowa.edu 565 PH 319-335-2258
Japanese eriko-ike@uiowa.edu 632 PH 319-335-2315
French jack-d-johnson@uiowa.edu 559 PH 319-335-2266
Spanish deanna-johnson@uiowa.edu 479 PH 319-335-3207
Japanese kiyomi-kawakami@uiowa.edu 671 PH 319-353-2202
Chinese chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 653 PH 319-335-2156
Spanish, Linguistics paula-kempchinsky@uiowa.edu 410 PH 319-335-2237
Russian irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 634 PH 319-335-0171
French michel-laronde@uiowa.edu 563 PH 319-335-2264
Italian katja-liimatta@uiowa.edu 469 PH 319-335-2267
Portuguese cris-lira@uiowa.edu 426 PH 319-335-2771
Italian irene-lottini@uiowa.edu 509 PH 319-353-2213
Hindi philip-lutgendorf@uiowa.edu 667 PH 319-335-2157
German waltraud-maierhofer@uiowa.edu 579 PH 319-335-2285
ASL carol-manning@uiowa.edu 672 PH 319-335-1190
Spanish pilar-marce@uiowa.edu 473 PH 319-335-3148
Spanish luis-martin-estudillo@uiowa.edu 416 PH 319-335-2229
ASL amyruth-mcgraw@uiowa.edu 677 PH (319) 335-0247 (V)
Linguistics bob-mcmurray@uiowa.edu E218 SH 319-335-2408
Spanish adriana-mendez@uiowa.edu 123-D PH 319-335-2230
Spanish ana-merino@uiowa.edu 123-F PH 319-335-2232
Russian margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 638 PH 319-335-2848
Swahili beatrice-mkenda@uiowa.edu 570 PH 319-353-2224
German yasemin-mohammad@uiowa.edu 512 PH 319-335-2280
Spanish luis-munoz@uiowa.edu 420 PH 319-335-3452
Spanish kristine-fitch@uiowa.edu 408 PH 319-335-0633
ASL kelly-neppl@uiowa.edu 681 PH (319) 335-1717 (V)
Spanish kathleen-newman@uiowa.edu 414 PH 319-335-1823 (PH) / 319-335-2821 (AJB)
Spanish m-nino-murcia@uiowa.edu 463 PH 319-335-1085
Japanese yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 663 PH 319-335-2159
German bruce-spencer@uiowa.edu 567 PH 319-335-2283
Spanish julia-oliverrajan@uiowa.edu 477 PH 319-335-2256
Spanish ivan-parra@uiowa.edu 475 PH 319-335-2255
French roland-racevskis@uiowa.edu 571 PH 319-335-2252
Arabic yasmine-ramadan@uiowa.edu 518 PH 319-335-2247
Chinese maureen-robertson@uiowa.edu 624 PH / W209 AJB 319-335-2154 / 319-335-2821
Spanish ana-m-rodriguez@uiowa.edu 422 PH 319-384-1940
Linguistics jerzy-rubach@uiowa.edu 568 EPB 319-335-0210
Spanish ariana-ruiz@uiowa.edu 459 PH 319-335-2242
Italian claudia-sartini@uiowa.edu 507 PH 319-353-2212
French rosemarie-scullion@uiowa.edu 467 PH 319-335-2262
Spanish, Linguistics christine-shea@uiowa.edu 412 PH 319-335-2795
ASL timothy-sheets@uiowa.edu 675 PH (319) 855-7139 (VP)
Chinese helen-shen@uiowa.edu 661 PH 319-335-2314
Sanskrit frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 628 PH 319-353-2203
Japanese kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 636 PH 319-335-1278
Chinese bo-sun@uiowa.edu 630 PH 319-335-2155
French downing-thomas@uiowa.edu 1111-C UCC 335-0373
French steven-ungar@uiowa.edu W225 AJB 319-335-1452
ASL robert-vizzini@uiowa.edu 673 PH (712) 587-8312 (VP)
Spanish ruth-westfall@uiowa.edu 428 PH 319-335-2822
Korean sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 669 PH 319-353-2204

Visiting/Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct/Visiting Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
MFA in Literary Translation aron-aji@uiowa.edu 453 PH 319-335-2248
Russian anna-barker@uiowa.edu 635 PH 319-335-0169
Korean yuhjoo-byun@uiowa.edu 121 PH 319-353-2188
Linguistics robert-chametzky@uiowa.edu 574 EPB 319-335-5556
German anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 519 PH 319-353-2221
Japanese noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 631 PH 319-335-1894
Spanish rachel-klevar@uiowa.edu 465 PH 319-335-1443
German kirsten-kumpf@uiowa.edu 519 PH 319-353-2221
Linguistics brooke-larson@uiowa.edu 557 EPB 319-335-0208
Chinese xin-liu-1@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-335-2153
German marguerite-miller@uiowa.edu 521 PH 319-335-2114
Russian alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 629 PH 319-353-2193
Korean joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 554 PH 319-384-1280
Spanish maricelle-pinto-tomas@uiowa.edu 475 PH 319-335-2255
Italian arne-seim@uiowa.edu 509 PH 319-353-2213
Japanese hiromi-takayama@uiowa.edu 631 PH 319-335-1894
Russian oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 523 PH
Chinese shunchang-tsai@uiowa.edu 627 PH 319-353-2968
Chinese newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 629 PH 319-353-2193
Spanish mariacamila-vera@uiowa.edu
Chinese qi-wang-2@uiowa.edu 626 PH 319-335-2153
Chinese Jun-wang-2@uiowa.edu 319-335-2152 662 PH
Spanish armando-zavaleta@uiowa.edu S250 PBB 319-335-2750

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Aikin, Judith
Professor of German, Emerita
German judith-aikin@uiowa.edu
Bourgeacq, Jacques
Emeritus
French
Cerreta, Florindo
Emeritus
Italian
Coblin, W. South
Professor Emeritus
Chinese south-coblin@uiowa.edu
Delaty, Simone
Emeritus
French
DeMello, George
Professor Emeritus
Spanish george-demello@uiowa.edu
Dobrian, Walter
Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish walter-dobrian@uiowa.edu
Douglass, R. Thomas
Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish
Duarte, Maria
Associate Professor Emeritus
Portuguese maria-duarte@uiowa.edu
Ertl, Wolfgang
Professor Emeritus
German wolfgang-ertl@uiowa.edu
Frank, Roslyn
Professor Emeritus
Spanish roz-frank@uiowa.edu
Guentner, Wendelin
Professor Emeritus
French wendelin-guentner@uiowa.edu 557 PH 319-335-2259
Hahn, Oscar
Professor Emeritus
Spanish oscar-hahn@uiowa.edu
Klein, Philip
Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish phil-klein@uiowa.edu
Leutner, Robert
Associate Professor Emeritus
Japanese robert-leutner@uiowa.edu
Lewis, Tom
Professor
Spanish tom-lewis@uiowa.edu
Liskin-Gasparro, Judith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish judith-liskin-gasparro@uiowa.edu
Nothnagle, John
Emeritus
French
Otto, Sue
Adjunct Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish sue-otto@uiowa.edu
Parkes, Ford
Professor Emeritus
German
Sandrock, James
Professor Emeritus
German
Vélez, Diana
Associate Professor Emeritus
Spanish diana-velez@uiowa.edu
Wherritt, Irene
Associate Professor Emertius
Portuguese irene-wherritt@uiowa.edu

DWLLC Staff

Staff in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Office Phone
Babb, Dan
University Shared Services Accountant
DWLLC 111-F PH 319-384-3594
Casella, Ali
Graduate Program Coordinator
DWLLC 111-D PH 319-335-2245
Cutsforth, Dylan
Administrative Services Coordinator
LMC 116B PH 319-335-2336
Janssen Sánchez, Brianna
Director, Language Media Center
LMC 116C PH 319-335-2332
Jones, Braeden
Instructional Services Coordinator
Spanish 303 PH 319-335-2241
Mellinger, Beth
Division Accountant
DWLLC 123-A PH 319-353-2190
Miller, Jenna
Academic Coordinator / Asst. to the Director
DWLLC 111 PH 319-335-2923
Osinskaya, Elena
Language Initiatives Manager
DWLLC 123-C PH 319-335-2628
Powell, Merry
Assistant to the Division Administrator
DWLLC 123-B PH 319-335-3402
Rush, Abby
Assistant to the Linguistics DEO
Linguistics 173 EPB 319-335-0203
Swanson, Matt
IT Support Analyst
DWLLC
Tritten, Rebecca
Division Administrator
DWLLC 111-C PH 319-335-2235
Vasseur, Raychel
Instructional Services Specialist
LMC 116A PH 319-335-2334

Graduate Students

Graduate Students in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Name Area Email Office Phone
Aguero Guerra, Marta
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish marta-agueroguerra@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Cardarelli, Marcus
French Graduate Student & T.A.
French marcus-cardarelli@uiowa.edu 558 PH 319-353-2216
Chan, Mengtian
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC mengtian-chan@uiowa.edu
Chen, Mengtian
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese mengtian-chen@uiowa.edu 658 PH 319-353-2205
Chien, Yi-Chia
M.A. student in Asian Civilizations, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese yi-chia-chien@uiowa.edu 623 PH 319-335-3339
Collins, Heidi
French Graduate Student
French heidi-collins@uiowa.edu
Covo, Jose
MFA student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish jose-covo@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Deifell, Elizabeth
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC elizabeth-deifell@uiowa.edu
DePuy, Nathan
MA student in Linguistics, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish nathan-depuy@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Dibbern, Jennifer
M.A. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish jennifer-dibbern@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Dodge, Brittney
MA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish brittney-dodge@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
El Megaless, Adil
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant
Arabic
Engelke, Sven
Literary Translation Graduate Student & German Teaching Assistant
German sven-engelke@uiowa.edu 572 PH 319-353-2223
Ferrer Molina, Elisa
MFA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish elisa-ferrermolina@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Fisher, Isaac
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish isaac-fisher@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Frye, Julianne
Spanish julianne-frye@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Gablenz, Neil
French Graduate Student & T.A.
French neil-gablenz@uiowa.edu 505 PH 319-353-2208
Galbraith, Hadley
French Graduate Student & T.A.
French hadley-galbraith@uiowa.edu 511 PH 319-353-2214
Gallo de Urioste, Ines
MFA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish ines-gallodeurioste@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Galvez Bohorquez, Diana
Ph.D. student in Educational Leadership, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish diana-galvez@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Gamia, Koku
French Graduate Student
French koku-gamia@uiowa.edu
Garcia Pliego, Ollin
MFA student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish ollin-garciapliego@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Garzon, Laura
MFA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish laura-garzon@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Gilbert, Katharine
Literary Translation Graduate Student, French T.A.
French katharine-gilbert@uiowa.edu
Gonzalo de Jesus, Patricia
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish patricia-gonzalodejesus@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Heacock-Renaud, Jennifer
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish jennifer-heacock@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Hernandez, Natalia
MFA student, Iowa Arts Fellow
Spanish natalia-hernandez@uiowa.edu
Illana Mahiques, Emilia
Ph.D. student in 2nd Language Acquisition; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish emilia-illanamahiques@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Jambrovic, Samuel
MFA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish samuel-jambrovic@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Jones, Braeden
Ph.D. student
Spanish braeden-jones@uiowa.edu 303 PH 319-335-2241
Josephs, Kevin
M.A. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish kevin-josephs@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Kim, Bo Gyeong
Fulbright Scholar & Teaching Assistant for Korean
Korean bogyeong-kim@uiowa.edu 625 PH 319-335-3339
Kupfer, Stephanie
French Graduate Student & T.A.
French stephanie-kupfer@uiowa.edu 568 PH 319-353-2225
Lakiotis, Andrea
Translation Graduate Student & French T.A.
French andrea-lakiotis@uiowa.edu 515 PH 319-353-2226
Law, Dallin
MFA student in Literary Translation, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish dallin-law@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Leclere, Camille
French Graduate Student & French T.A.
French camille-leclere@uiowa.edu 566 PH 319-335-2282
Lu, Yuan
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 656 PH 319-335-2174
Lyskovtseva, Olesia
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Russian
Russian olesia-lyskovtseva@uiowa.edu 631 PH 319-335-1894
Martin Lopez, Nieves
MFA student in Literary Translation, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish nieves-martinlopez@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Mazer, Mariana
MFA student, Iowa Arts Fellow
Spanish mariana-mazer@uiowa.edu
Mikhaylova, Anna
SLA Graduate Student & French T.A.
French anna-mikhaylova@uiowa.edu 511 PH 319-353-2214
Moynard, Anne
Poitiers University Exchange Scholar
French
Muskat, Alin
German Teaching Assistant
German alin-muskat@uiowa.edu
Noyes, Allana
MFA student in Literary Translation, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish allana-noyes@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
O'Neill, Sarah
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish sarah-oneill@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Olovson, Brian
Ph.D. student in 2nd Language Acquisition; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish brian-olovson@uiowa.edu 452 PH 319-335-0487
Pachon, Oscar
MFA student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish oscar-pachon@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Pan, Xiaofei
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese xiaofei-pan@uiowa.edu 623 PH 319-353-2507
Pan, Xiofei
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC xiofei-pan@uiowa.edu
Pedebidau, Geoffrey
French Graduate Student & T.A.
French geoffrey-pedebidau@uiowa.edu 560 PH 319-353-2217
Perez Belda, A. Alejandro
Ph.D. Student - Teaching and Learning (Foreign Language and ESL Education), Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish antonioalejandro-perezbelda@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Pico Pinto, Angela
MFA student, Iowa Arts Fellow
Spanish angela-picopinto@uiowa.edu
Qi, Runqing
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese runqing-qi@uiowa.edu 656 PH 319-335-2174
Qi, Runqing
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC runqing-qi@uiowa.edu
Roch, Steven
American Studies Graduate Student and German Teaching Assistant
German steven-roch@uiowa.edu 572 PH 319-353-2223
Rodriguez Balbontin, Pablo
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish pablo-rodriguezbalbontin@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Rose, Céline
SLA Graduate Student & French T.A.
French celine-rose@uiowa.edu 515 PH 319-353-2226
Rose, Céline
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC celine-rose@uiowa.edu
Salamifar, S. Farzad
French Graduate Student & French T.A.
French seyedfarzad-salamifar@uiowa.edu
Schreiber-Stainthorp, Rose
MFA student in Literary Translation, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish rose-schreiber-stainthorp@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Shaeffer, Alexandra
SLA Graduate Student & French T.A.
French alexandra-shaeffer@uiowa.edu 568 PH 319-353-2225
Shaeffer, Alexandra
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC alexandra-shaeffer@uiowa.edu
Smart, Cynthia
MFA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish cynthia-smart@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Vasseur, Raychel
FLARE Graduate Student, Instructional Services Specialist
DWLLC raychel-vasseur@uiowa.edu
Wuxiha, Caolimeng
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC caolimeng-wuxiha@uiowa.edu
Wuxiha, Caolimeng
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese caolimeng-wuxiha@uiowa.edu 623 PH 319-335-3339
Xiao, Yao
M.A. student in Asian Civilizations, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese yao-xiao@uiowa.edu 658 PH 319-353-2205
Yaksic, Matthew
MA student, Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish matthew-yaksic@uiowa.edu 314 PH 319-353-2186
Yang, Shuyi
Ph.D. student in SLA; Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese shuyi-yang@uiowa.edu 662 PH 319-335-2152
Yang, Shuyi
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC shuyi-yang@uiowa.edu
Zambrano, Mayela
Ph.D. student; Teaching Assistant in Spanish
Spanish mayela-zambrano@uiowa.edu 316 PH 319-353-2187
Zhang, Tianlu
FLARE Graduate Student
DWLLC tianlu-zhang@uiowa.edu
Zhang, Tianlu
Ph.D. student in Second Language Acquisition, Teaching Assistant for Chinese
Chinese tianlu-zhang@uiowa.edu 625 PH 319-335-3339