People

Department Chair

  • Director of Division of World Languages, Interim DEO of French and Italian Department, Interim DEO of German Department
    Phone: 319-335-2923
    Office: 111-A PH

Faculty

Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Cinzia Blum

Professor
cinzia-blum@uiowa.edu 319-335-2268 551 PH 11:30-12:30 M W F, or by appointment

Deborah Contrada

Associate Professor, Dir. of Undergrad Italian Studies
deborah-contrada@uiowa.edu 319-335-2257 510 PH 10:30-11:20 M W F, or by appointment

Anny Dominique Curtius

Associate Professor of Francophone Studies; Director of the Working Group 'Circulating Cultures' at the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies
anny-curtius@uiowa.edu 319-335-2261 555 PH 2:00-3:30 T Th, or by appointment

Roxanna Curto

Assistant Professor
roxanna-curto@uiowa.edu 319-335-2274 573 PH 10:45-12:15 T Th

Emilie Destruel Johnson

Assistant Professor of French
e-destruel-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2265 514 PH 9:30-12:30 M

Dénes Gazsi

Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures
denes-gazsi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2279 520 PH 2:30-5:30 M

Blandina Giblin

Lecturer of Swahili
blandina-giblin@uiowa.edu 319-335-2203 569 PH 11:00 – 12:00 T Th, 1:30 – 2:30 W

Wendelin Guentner

Professor
wendelin-guentner@uiowa.edu 319-335-2259 557 PH

David V. Hagan

Visiting Assistant Professor of French
david-hagan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2273 522 PH 12:30 – 1:20 MWF

Geoffrey R. Hope

Professor
geoffrey-hope@uiowa.edu 319-335-2258 565 PH ON LEAVE

Jack Johnson

Lecturer of French
jack-d-johnson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2266 559 PH

Michel S. Laronde

Professor of French and Francophone Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Honors Program, and Study Abroad
michel-laronde@uiowa.edu 319-335-2264 563 PH 11:00-12:00 T Th, 2:00-2:30 T Th

Katja Liimatta

Lecturer of Italian
katja-liimatta@uiowa.edu 319-335-2267 469 PH 12:30-1:20 M F, 10:30-11:20 F

Irene Lottini

Lecturer of Italian
irene-lottini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH 2:30-3:20 M T W

Beatrice Mkenda

Lecturer of Swahili
beatrice-mkenda@uiowa.edu 319-353-2224 570 PH 10:30 - 11:30 T W Th, and by appointment

Roland Racevskis

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
roland-racevskis@uiowa.edu 319-335-2252 571 PH 1:30-4:30 M

Yasmine Ramadan

Assistant Professor of Arabic
yasmine-ramadan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2247 518 PH 1:30-4:30 T

Claudia Sartini-Rideout

Lecturer of Italian
claudia-sartini@uiowa.edu 319-353-2212 507 PH 9:30-10:20 M T Th, or by appointment

Rosemarie Scullion

Associate Professor
rosemarie-scullion@uiowa.edu 319-335-2262 467 PH 10:15-11:15 T, 10:15-12:15 Th

Arne Seim

Lecturer of Italian
arne-seim@uiowa.edu 319-353-2213 509 PH 3:00-5:00 T, or by appointment

Downing A. Thomas

Associate Provost and Dean, International Programs Professor
downing-thomas@uiowa.edu 335-0373 1111-C UCC

Steven Ungar

Professor
steven-ungar@uiowa.edu 319-335-1452 W225 AJB 1:30 – 3:30 M, 1:30 – 2:30 W, and by appointment