People

Department Chair

Chinese

Chinese Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Ge Gong

Lecturer
ge-gong@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 668 PH

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH

Maureen Robertson

Associate Professor
maureen-robertson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2154 / 319-335-2821 624 PH / W209 AJB

Helen H. Shen

Professor
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH

Bo Sun

Lecturer
bo-sun@uiowa.edu 319-335-2155 630 PH
Chinese Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Xin Liu

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2015 to 2017
xin-liu-1@uiowa.edu 319-335-2153 626 PH

Kevin Tsai

Visiting Assistant Professor
shunchang-tsai@uiowa.edu 319-353-2968 627 PH

Newell Ann Van Auken

Visiting Assistant Professor
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-353-2193 629 PH

Qi Wang

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2016 to 2017
qi-wang-2@uiowa.edu 319-335-2153 626 PH

Jun Wang

Visiting scholar from 2016 to 2017
Jun-wang-2@uiowa.edu 662 PH 319-335-2152 By appointment

Japanese

Japanese Faculty in the Division of World Languages,Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Hiroko Czuprynski

Lecturer
hiroko-czuprynski@uiowa.edu 319-353-2201 666 PH

Kendall Heitzman

Assistant Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH

Eriko Ike

Lecturer
eriko-ike@uiowa.edu 319-335-2315 632 PH

Kiyomi Kawakami

Lecturer
kiyomi-kawakami@uiowa.edu 319-353-2202 671 PH

Yumiko Nishi

Assistant Professor
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 636 PH
Japanese Faculty in the Division of World Languages,Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Noriko Higashitani

Visiting Instructor
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-335-1894 631 PH

Hiromi Takayama

Visiting Assistant Professor
hiromi-takayama@uiowa.edu 319-335-1894 631 PH

Korean

Korean Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Sang-Seok Yoon

Lecturer
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH
Korean Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Yuh Joo Byun

Visiting Scholar
yuhjoo-byun@uiowa.edu 319-353-2188 121 PH

Joung-A Park

Visiting Instructor
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-384-1280 554 PH

Russian and Slavic

Russian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Irina Kostina

Senior Lecturer
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH
Russian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Adjunct Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 635 PH

Alexandra Niemi

Visiting Instructor
alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 319-353-2193 629 PH

Oleg Timofeyev

Adjunct Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 523 PH

South Asian

South Asian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Assistant Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB GWSS Courses

Philip A. Lutgendorf

Professor
philip-lutgendorf@uiowa.edu 319-335-2157 667 PH ON LEAVE, Appointment by email

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 628 PH