People

Department Chair

Faculty

Chinese | Japanese | Korean | Russian & Slavic | South Asian

Graduate Students

Chinese | Korean | Japanese | Russian | South Asian

Chinese

Chinese Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Chuanren Ke

Professor, Director, FLARE
chuanren-ke@uiowa.edu 319-335-2156 653 PH Th 9:15-12:00

Yuan Lu

Lecturer
yuan-lu-2@uiowa.edu 319-467-0209 656 PH 4:45-5:30 T Th, 3:00-5:00 F

Helen H. Shen

Professor
helen-shen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2314 661 PH M 2:00-5:00

Bo Sun

Lecturer
bo-sun@uiowa.edu 319-335-2155 630 PH T Th 1:30-3:00

Newell Ann Van Auken

Lecturer
newellann-vanauken@uiowa.edu 319-467-0211 629 PH M 12:30-3:30
Chinese Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Max Bohnenkamp

Visiting Assistant Professor
max-bohnenkamp@uiowa.edu

Zhengjia Dang

Visiting Scholar
zhengjia-dang@uiowa.edu 319-335-2153 626 PH

Xin Liu

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2015 to 2017
xin-liu-1@uiowa.edu 319-335-2153 626 PH

Qi Wang

Confucius Institute - Visiting Scholar from 2016 to 2017
qi-wang-2@uiowa.edu 319-335-2153 626 PH

Japanese

Japanese Faculty in the Division of World Languages,Visiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Matthew Chudnow

Visiting Assistant Professor
matthew-chudnow@uiowa.edu

Hiromi Takayama

Visiting Assistant Professor
hiromi-takayama@uiowa.edu 319-335-1894 631 PH T Th F 12:20-1:20
Japanese Faculty in the Division of World Languages,Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Kendall Heitzman

Assistant Professor
kendall-heitzman@uiowa.edu 319-335-5104 657 PH T, Th 2:00-3:30

Noriko Higashitani

Lecturer
noriko-higashitani@uiowa.edu 319-353-2967 668 PH T, Th 2:00-3:00, W 1:00-2:00

Eriko Ike

Lecturer
eriko-ike@uiowa.edu 319-335-2315 632 PH T, Th 1:00-2:30

Kiyomi Kawakami

Lecturer
kiyomi-kawakami@uiowa.edu 319-353-2202 671 PH T 3:30-5:30, W 3:30-4:30

Yumiko Nishi

Assistant Professor
yumiko-nishi@uiowa.edu 319-335-2159 663 PH M W 1:30-3:00

Kosuke Ogaki

Lecturer
kosuke-ogaki@uiowa.edu

Yuki Shimizu

Lecturer
yuki-shimizu@uiowa.edu

Kendra Strand

Assistant Professor
kendra-strand@uiowa.edu 319-335-1278 636 PH T Th 3:00-5:00

Korean

Korean Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Sang-Seok Yoon

Lecturer
sang-seok-yoon@uiowa.edu 319-353-2204 669 PH M W T 1:15-2:15
Korean Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Min Suk Kang

Visiting Scholar
minsuk-kang@uiowa.edu 319-467-0187 123E PH M T W 9:30-10:30

Joung-A Park

Visiting Instructor
joung-a-park@uiowa.edu 319-384-1280 554 PH M W 2:20-3:50

Jekyoung Sim

Visiting Scholar
jekyoung-sim@uiowa.edu 123E PH

Jee Hae Yoo

Visiting Scholar
123E PH

Russian and Slavic

Russian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Irina Kostina

Senior Lecturer
irina-kostina@uiowa.edu 319-335-0171 634 PH M, W 1:30-3:00

Margaret H. Mills

Professor
margaret-mills@uiowa.edu 319-335-2848 638 PH T Th 2:00-4:00
Russian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesVisiting/Adjunct Faculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Anna Barker

Adjunct Assistant Professor
anna-barker@uiowa.edu 319-335-0169 635 PH T 3:30-4:30 Th 6:15-7:15, Th 3:30-4:30 (Prairie Lights)

Anna Dyer

Visiting Assistant Professor
anna-dyer@uiowa.edu 319-467-0206 519 PH T Th 2:25-3:25, W 12:25-1:25

Alexandra Niemi

Visiting Instructor
alexandra-niemi-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0210 629 PH T Th 12:00-1:30

Oleg Timofeyev

Adjunct Assistant Professor
oleg-timofeyev@uiowa.edu 319-467-0208 523 PH Th 12:25-1:55

South Asian

South Asian Faculty in the Division of World Languages, Literatures & CulturesFaculty
Name E-mail Phone Office Hours

Aniruddha Dutta

Assistant Professor
aniruddha-dutta@uiowa.edu 319-335-0035 401 JB T 3:30-5:00, W 3:30 – 4:30 (401 JH)

Frederick M. Smith

Professor, DEO of Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
frederick-smith@uiowa.edu 319-353-2203 628 PH