Faculty Assembly Agenda: April 26, 2017

To: Departmental Executive Officers
From: Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez, Chair of the Faculty Assembly
RE: Faculty Assembly Agenda: April 26, 2017

E-mail this article

Please note that today’s agenda calls for two meetings. Regular business will be conducted in the first meeting, with adjournment at its conclusion. The organizational meeting for the 2017-2018 Faculty Assembly will occur next, with the nomination and election of new FA officers. Faculty Assembly members elected during the CLAS spring elections have been invited to attend. Please join the Faculty Assembly in welcoming its new members.


Faculty Assembly
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
3:30 to 5:00 p.m.
2520D UCC (University Capitol Centre)


  1. Announcements
  2. Minutes from March 29, 2017
  3. Discuss the University of Iowa’s 2020 Academic Organization Structure with Council of Deans ad hoc committee members: Daniel Clay, Dean, College of Education; Sarah Fisher Gardial, Dean, Tippie College of Business; John Keller, Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education and Dean, Graduate College; Alec Scranton, Dean, College of Engineering
  4. Discuss the University of Iowa’s 2020 Academic Organization Structure with CLAS ad hoc committee chair Marc Armstrong, Associate Dean for Research & Infrastructure
  5. Vote on CLAS Instructional Track Faculty Policy, previously approved by CLAS Executive Committee, Raúl Curto, Executive Associate Dean
  6. Vote on proposal for an undergraduate Certificate in Political Risk Analysis, approved by CLAS Undergraduate Educational Policy & Curriculum Committee, Brian Lai, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
  7. Report on status of negotiations between UE Local 896/COGS and the University of Iowa and Board of Regents, State of Iowa, Landon Elkind, COGS President
  8. Adjournment of the meeting


2017-2018 Organizational Meeting Agenda

  1. Welcome to the newly elected members of the Assembly: Chair Ana Rodríguez-Rodríguez

Group I

David Puderbaugh, Music

Darrel Wanzer-Serrano, Communication Studies

Group II

Margaret Carrel, Geographical & Sustainability Sciences

Aniruddha Dutta, Gender, Women’s & Sexuality Studies and Asian & Slavic Languages & Literatures

Group III

Tori Forbes, Chemistry

Michelle Voss, Psychological & Brain Sciences

  1. Nomination of new FA officers:  Professor Stephen Voyce, Department of English, of the Faculty Assembly Nominating Committee introducing Rachel McLaren, Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, as candidate for secretary, and Stephen Warren, Associate Professor, Department of History, as candidate for vice chair/chair elect. Nominations also are welcomed from the floor.
  2. Election of the new FA officers
  3. Adjournment of the organizational meeting

Faculty Assembly Schedule 2016-2017

Wednesday, 3:30-5:00 in Seminar Room 2520D UCC
(University Capitol Centre)
September 21  October 19
November 16  January 25
February 22  March 29
April 26


Faculty Assembly Schedule 2017-2018

Wednesday, 3:30-5:00 in Seminar Room 2520D UCC
(University Capitol Centre)
September 20  October 18
November 15  January 24
February 21  March 28
April 25