Departmental Executive Officers 2022–2023

Department DEO Office Phone
African American Studies Venise Berry, Chair 514 JB 319-335-0285
American Studies Thomas Oates, Interim Chair 728JB 319-335-0316
Anthropology Katina Lillios, Chair 127B MH 319-335-3023
Art and Art History Steve McGuire, Director  150D ABW 319-335-1376
Asian and Slavic
Languages and Literatures
Yumiko Nishi, Interim Chair 663 PH 319-335-2159
Biochemistry and Molecular
Kris DeMali, Interim Chair 4-470 BSB 319-335-7882
Biology Jodie Plumert, Interim Chair 143 BB 319-335-1050
Chemistry Len MacGillivray, Chair E331 CB 319-335-3504
Cinematic Arts Michael Cowan, Chair E210 AJB 319-335-0329
Classics Craig Gibson, Chair 203 JB 319-335-2324
Communication Sciences
and Disorders
Anu Subramanian, Interim Chair 120 SHC 319-335-8694
Communication Studies Kembrew McLeod, Chair 131 BCSB 319-353-2259
Computer Science Alberto Segre, Chair 14G MLH 319-335-1713
Creative Writing
(Iowa Writers' Workshop)
Sam Chang, Director 102 DH 319-335-0416
Dance Rebekah Kowal, Chair E114 HH 319-335-2180
Earth and Environmental
David Peate, Chair 115C TH 319-335-0567
Economics David Cooper, Chair S220 PBB 319-335-0829
English Loren Glass, Chair 464 EPB 319-335-0446
French and Italian Roxanna Curto, Chair 422 PH 319-335-2274
Gender, Women's and
Sexuality Studies
Hyaeweol Choi, Chair 420 JB 319-335-2164
Geographical and
Sustainability Sciences
David Bennett, Chair 306 JB 319-335-0158
German Glenn Ehrstine, Area Coordinator 111 PH 319-335-2276
Health and Human
Gary Pierce, Chair 412 FH 319-335-9487
History Lisa Heineman, Interim Chair 280 SH 319-335-1945
Journalism and
Mass Communication
Melissa Tully, Interim Director E332 AJB 319-335-3356
Interdisciplinary Programs,
Division of
Cornelia Lang, Chair 120 SH 319-335-1945
Linguistics Sarah Fagan, Chair 463 PH 319-335-1085
Mathematics Ryan Kinser, Chair 14A MLH 319-335-0786
Microbiology Li Wu, Head 3-403B BSB 319-335-4087
Music Tammie Walker, Director 1400 VOX 319-335-1601
Performing Arts (See Dance, Music, Theatre Arts)
Philosophy Greg Landini, Chair 268 EPB 319-335-0024
Physics and Astronomy Mary Hall (Hallsie) Reno, Chair 515 VAN 319-335-1920
Political Science Brian Lai, Chair 343 SH 319-335-2358
Psychological and
Brain Sciences
Mark Blumberg, Chair 378 PBSB 319-335-2405
Religious Studies Morten Schlütter, Chair 316 GILH 319-335-2165
Rhetoric Cinda Coggins Mosher, Interim Chair 174 GH 319-335-3786
Social Work Miriam Landsman, Director 226 NH 319-335-1257
Sociology and Criminology Mike Sauder, Chair 401 NH 319-335-0366
Spanish and Portuguese Amber Brian, Chair 457 PH 319-335-2231
Statistics and Actuarial
Kung-Sik Chan, Chair 241 SH 319-335-2849
Theatre Arts Mary Beth Easley, Chair 136 TB 319-335-2406
World Languages,
Literatures,and Cultures
Jill Beckman, Director 111 PH 319-335-2911