The planet Earth

Anthropology is the comparative study of peoples and cultures past and present. The UI Department of Anthropology offers training in the discipline's four major subfields—cultural anthropology, biological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and archaeology—as well as in topical areas such as medical anthropology, feminist anthropology, economic anthropology, palaeoanthropology, and European archaeology.

Our faculty members have served as presidents of the American Anthropological Association, the Society of Economic Anthropology, and the Society for Cultural Anthropology, and as editors of Medical Anthropology Quarterly and the American Ethnologist. The Department also maintains close ties with the Office of the State Archaeologist, the Museum of Natural HistoryInternational Programs, and the College of Public Health.

Department of Anthropology
114 Macbride Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242
E-mail: anthropology@uiowa.edu
Phone: 319-335-0522
Fax: 319-335-0653

View accessibility and parking information