People

Department Chair & Administrator

Faculty

  • Susan Birrell

    Susan Birrell

    Professor of American Studies & Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-9337
    E-mail: susan-birrell@uiowa.edu
    Office: 722 Jefferson Building

    Critical cultural analyses of sport and leisure

  • Naomi Greyser

    Naomi Greyser

    Associate Professor


    Phone: 319-335-3372
    E-mail: naomi-greyser@uiowa.edu
    Office: 422 Jefferson Building

    American literature and rhetoric; affect and the body; critical race and gender studies; knowledge cultures and university studies; critical theory

  • Steven Horowitz

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    E-mail: steven-horowitz@uiowa.edu

    American popular music and subcultures

  • Kim Marra

    Kim Marra

    Professor of American Studies and Theatre Arts


    Phone: (319) 353-2402
    E-mail: kim-marra@uiowa.edu
    Office: 134 Theatre Building

    Late nineteenth and early twentieth-century U.S. theatre and performance; feminist, queer, and animal studies

  • Thomas Oates

    Thomas Oates

    Associate Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-0316
    E-mail: thomas-oates@uiowa.edu
    Office: 728 Jefferson Building

    Sport media, critical/cultural studies

  • Catriona Parratt

    Catriona (Tina) Parratt

    Associate Professor of American Studies, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Sport Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-9339
    E-mail: catriona-parratt@uiowa.edu
    Office: 720 Jefferson Building

    History of sport and leisure; diversity and sport; sport historiography

  • Russell Peterson

    Adjunct Assistant Professor

    E-mail: russell-peterson@uiowa.edu

    American politics, political humor

  • Lauren Rabinovitz

    Lauren Rabinovitz

    Professor of American Studies and Cinema


    Phone: (319) 335-0315
    E-mail: lauren-rabinovitz@uiowa.edu
    Office: 714 Jefferson Buildling

    American cinema; amusement parks and world's fairs; foodways

  • Laura Rigal

    Associate Professor of American Studies and English

    Director of Graduate Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-1609
    E-mail: laura-rigal@uiowa.edu
    Office: 711 Jefferson Building

    American literature and culture, 1750-1900

  • Jennifer Sterling

    Lecturer


    Phone: 319-384-3490
    E-mail: jennifer-sterling@uiowa.edu
    Office: 709 Jefferson Building
  • Travis Vogan

    Travis Vogan

    Associate Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-1370
    E-mail: travis-vogan@uiowa.edu
    Office: E342 Adler Journalism Building

    Sports media, media industries and institutions

  • Stephen Warren

    Stephen Warren

    Associate Professor of American Studies and History

    Chair, Department of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-2064
    E-mail: stephen-warren@uiowa.edu
    Office: 161 Schaeffer Hall

    American Indian histories, Midwestern history, ethno-historical methods

  • Deborah Whaley

    Deborah Whaley

    Professor of American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-3494
    E-mail: deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu
    Office: 724 Jefferson Building

    American and Transnational American Studies, Digital Humanities and New Media Technologies, Cultural History, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Black Cultural Studies, Popular Culture, the Visual Arts, and Critical Theory

Affiliated Faculty

  • Professor Bluford Adams

    Bluford Adams

    Associate Professor of English


    Phone: (319) 335-0461
    E-mail: bluford-adams@uiowa.edu
    Office: 308 English-Philosophy Building

    Racial and ethnic studies and regionalism

  • Nick Yablon

    Nick Yablon

    Associate Professor of History


    Phone: 319-335-2306
    E-mail: nick-yablon@uiowa.edu
    Office: 107 Schaeffer Hall

    Nineteenth-century US cultural and urban history, visual culture, memory

Emeritus Faculty

  • Rich Horwitz

    Professor Emeritus

  • Horace Porter

    F. Wendell Miller Professor of English and American Studies


    Phone: (319) 335-2216
    E-mail: horace-porter@uiowa.edu
    Office: 718 Jefferson Building

    Twentieth-century American and African American fiction; memoirs, autobiography

  • John Raeburn

    Professor Emeritus of American Studies and English

    E-mail: john-raeburn@uiowa.edu

    American twentieth-century cultural history; American photography; American film; the 1930s; American literature after 1865; history of the book

Staff

Graduate Students