Hancher-Finkbine Award Recipients

In 1964, the University of Iowa established the tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine Medallions to recognize leadership, learning, and loyalty. The medallions are named for the founder of the Finkbine Dinner, William O. Finkbine, and for Virgil M. Hancher, a student guest at the first dinner who served for 24 years as president of the University of Iowa, and who, to an unusual degree, exemplified the three characteristics for which the awards are given.

Four outstanding students and one professor are chosen for the award annually, and to a graduate who has attained special distinction. Many College of Liberal Arts and Sciences students, faculty, staff, and alumni have received the Hancher-Finkbine Medallion.

Learn more about the Hancher-Finkbine Medallion and its recipients.