People

Department Chair

Faculty

Faculty in the African American Studies Program
Name Phone E-mail Office

Simon Balto

Assistant Professor, History & African American Studies

History
319-335-2343

simon-balto@uiowa.edu

308 SH, 510 JB

Venise Berry

Associate Professor

Journalism & Mass Communication
319-335-2765

venise-berry@uiowa.edu

514 JB, E340 AJB

Tim Havens

Department Chair, Professor

Communication Studies
319-384-3329

timothy-havens@uiowa.edu

512 JB, 105C BCSB

Jessica Welburn Paige

Assistant Professor; Sociology & African American Studies

Sociology
319-384-1831

jessica-welburn@uiowa.edu

504 JB, 118 SSH

Damani Phillips

Associate Professor of Music & African American Studies

Director of Graduate Studies
319-334-1831

damani-phillips@uiowa.edu

504 JB, 4419 VOX

Horace Porter

F. Wendell Miller Professor of English and American Studies

English; American Studies
319-335-2216

horace-porter@uiowa.edu

718 JB

Miriam Thaggert

Associate Professor

English
319-384-3329

miriam-thaggert@uiowa.edu

512 JB, 353 EPB

Richard B. Turner

Professor

Religious Studies
319-335-0298

richard-turner@uiowa.edu

508 JB, 310 GILH

Deborah Whaley

Professor

American Studies
319-335-3494

deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu

724 JB, 1015 LIB

Staff

Staff in the African American Studies Program
Name Phone E-mail Office

Lindsay Vella

Administrative Assistant

319-335-0285

lindsay-vella@uiowa.edu

210 Jefferson Building