People

Department Chair and Administrative Staff

Faculty

Faculty in the African American Studies Program
Name Phone E-mail Office

Simon Balto

Assistant Professor, History & African American Studies

History
319-335-2343

simon-balto@uiowa.edu

510 JB, 308 SH

Venise Berry

Department Chair, Associate Professor

Journalism & Mass Communication
319-335-2765

venise-berry@uiowa.edu

514 JB, E340 AJB

Tim Havens

Professor

Communication Studies
319-384-3329

timothy-havens@uiowa.edu

512 JB, 105C BCSB

Ashley Howard

Assistant Professor

History
319-467-1715

ashley-howard@uiowa.edu

504 JB

Alfred Martin

Assistant Professor

Communication Studies
319-353-1996

alfred-martin@uiowa.edu

512 JB, 127 BCSB

Jessica Welburn Paige

Assistant Professor; Sociology & African American Studies

Sociology
319-384-1831

jessica-welburn@uiowa.edu

504 JB, 118 SSH

Damani Phillips

Associate Professor of Music & African American Studies

Director of Graduate Studies
319-334-1831

damani-phillips@uiowa.edu

504 JB, 4419 VOX

Victor Ray

Assistant Professor

Sociology

victor-ray@uiowa.edu

510 JB, W129 SSH

Louise Seamster

Assistant Professor

Sociology
319-335-2509

louise-seamster@uiowa.edu

510 JB, W130 SSH

Janette Taylor

Associate Professor

Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies and College of Nursing
319-335-0006 (JB), 319-335-7066 (CON)

janette-taylor@uiowa.edu

418 JB, 474 CNB

Miriam Thaggert

Associate Professor

English
319-384-3329

miriam-thaggert@uiowa.edu

512 JB, 353 EPB

Richard B. Turner

Professor

Religious Studies
319-335-0298

richard-turner@uiowa.edu

508 JB, 310 GILH

Deborah Whaley

Professor

American Studies
319-335-3494

deborah-whaley@uiowa.edu

724 JB, 1015 LIB

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty in the African American Studies Program
Name Phone E-mail Office

Nicholas Creary

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Assistant Director, Center for Diversity & Enrichment
319-335-3555

nicholas-creary@uiowa.edu

2750 University Capitol Centre

David W. Jackson III

Adjunct Assistant Professor

david-w-jackson@uiowa.edu

512 JB

Emeritus Faculty

Name Phone E-mail

Horace Porter

F. Wendell Miller Professor of English and American Studies

English; American Studies

horace-porter@uiowa.edu

Staff

Staff in the African American Studies Program
Name Phone E-mail Office

Lindsay Vella

Departmental Administrator

319-335-0285

lindsay-vella@uiowa.edu

210 Jefferson Building